Home - EECS 1010 - Term Design Project - Moylet - LibGuides at University of Toledo Libraries

Getting Started

Home - Getting Started With Engineering Information - LibGuides at University of Toledo Libraries
This LibGuide provides some guidance for beginning your seach for engineering information. Also see the Engineering LibGuide. If you need assistance with your research or just want some advice please contact the Engineering Librarian by one of the methods listed on the right side of this page.

Sources of Patent & Trademark Information

University of Toledo U.S. Patents
This collection includes United States patents for inventions by UT faculty, students and staff that list UT/MCO/MUO as the original assignee (owner). These patents include those assigned to the University of Toledo as well as to the Medical College of Ohio/Medical University of Ohio prior to the merger in 2006. Only granted patents, not patent applications, are included. Use the 'Search within this Series' box to search for keywords in the authors, titles, or abstracts of the patents.
US Patent & Trademark Office Homepage
The USPTO mission is to ensure that the intellectual property system contributes to a strong global economy, encourages investment in innovation, and fosters entrepreneurial spirit.
Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
How to View Patent Full-Page Images From USPTO
See the tutorials and other helpful links here. USPTO's full-page images are stored and delivered at full 300 dots per inch (d.p.i.) resolution in an image file format called "TIFF," using CCITT Group 4 compression. Unfortunately, due to the volume of the image data, available funding, and other technical considerations, USPTO cannot convert these images to a format more popular on the Web either permanently or by converting on-the-fly as they are delivered.
USPTO - Patent Statistics Reports
Provides links to listings of Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) reports that are available for viewing.
USPTO Classification Homepage
The Office of Patent Classification maintains the U.S. Patent Classification system.
Lens.org
The Lens at its core is an aggregator of metadata, combining three unique content sets and one management tool as a base offering. This base supports the four primary functions of the Lens, which are to discover, analyse, manage and share knowledge.
Derwent Innovations Index
- This link opens in a new window
Derwent Innovations Index provides access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources.
HathiTrust
A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions.
Google Patents
Search over 7 million patents.
European Patent Office
A collection open to the world. The EPO holds one of the largest digital repositories of public knowledge in the world.
Japan Patent Office
Official site of the Japan Patent Office.
Japanese, Chinese, or Korean Patent Help
This virtual help desk provides answers to the most frequently asked questions on patents and patent information in China, India, Japan, and Korea. You can also find background information on filing trends and granting procedures and some guidance on common patent terminology of Asian patents.
inPASS - Indian Patent Advanced Search System
Government of India Controller General of Patents Design and Trademarks
DNA Patent Database interface
This database serves as a resource for members of the general public interested in fields like genomics, genetics and biotechnology. The DPD contains a collection of DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and makes the full-text versions of such patents available at no cost to the public.
FreePatentsOnline
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest, and easiest patent search engines on the web.
pat2pdf.org
Download U.S. patents (in PDF) and more!
Cooperative Patent Classification
The Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) effort is a joint partnership between the USPTO and the EPO where the Offices have agreed to harmonize their existing classification systems (ECLA and USPC, respectively) and migrate towards a common classification scheme. This is a strategic decision by both offices and is seen as an important step towards advancing harmonization efforts currently being undertaken through the IP5’s Common Hybrid Classification (CHC) project.The migration to CPC will be developed based in large part on the existing European Classification System (ECLA) and will be modified to ensure compliance with the International Patent Classification system (IPC) standards administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
PATENTSCOPE
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty applications in full text format on the day of publication. The information may be searched by entering keywords, names of applicants, international patent classification and many other search criteria in multiple languages.

Photo

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Technical Reports

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Books

RSMeans Electrical Cost Data 2004
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) TK435 .M42 27th 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Annual reference provides data for electrical installation of all types, from H.V. transmission lines to residential wiring. Includes total cost guidance with over 11,000 unit cost entries.
Electrical Engineering Handbook by Edited by: Chen, Wai-Kai
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2005
[Click on title to access]

Engineering Librarian

John Napp

Email Me

Contact:

John Napp

Associate Professor & Engineering Librarian

University of Toledo

CL 1024H

419-530-3948

Subjects: Engineering

EECS 1010 - Term Design Project - Moylet: Home

Getting Started

Sources of Patent & Trademark Information

Photo

Databases

Technical Reports

Books

Engineering Librarian