Skip to main content

AccessMedicine: Home

A repository of medical knowledge for students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals

About AccessMedicine

Go directly to AccessMedicine

In this guide:

AccessMedicine is a web site that provides access to a variety of full-text resources. The collection is divided into multiple sections:

  • Readings: The clinical library includes the full-text of more than 85 textbooks. The LANGE educational series consists of basic science texts and clinical medicine texts. Many of these online texts are equivalent to their print counterparts; Harrison’s includes additional features not found in the print (look for the e-chapter logo). Harrison's and Hurst’s The Heart, include updated material that can be accessed by clicking on the Textbook Updates in the Features menu of each textbook. Harrison’s also has a section called Grand Rounds, consisting of audio slide lectures.
  • Quick Reference: Includes Quick DX and RX; Guidelines; Algorythms; DDX; Diagnostic Tests; and Calculators
  • Drugs: Includes Generics, Trade Names, Drug Classes, and Patient Handouts
  • Multimedia: Includes Videos by Category; Videos by System; Musculoskeletal Exams; Patient Safety Modules; Grand Rouns; and Images
  • Cases: Contains Case Files; Pathophysiology Cases; and Hurst's Imaging Cases
  • Self-Assessment: Includes Clinincal Library and Lange Educational Library
  • Custom Curriculum: Requires registration
  • Patient Ed: Provides patient education handouts for Acute Advisor, Medicines Advisor, and Pediatric Advisor

Accessing AccessMedicine

Searching and Browsing AccessMedicine

Searching:  From the main page, there are three ways to search:

  • Enter a search into the search box at the top of the page
  • Select one of the other drop-down choices from the top menu.
  • Complete an advanced search, which will allow you to type in your topic and then limit by a particular book or update as well as drug monographs, guidelines, and Quick Answers, and more.


Create a pesonal account to store content or use special features:

 

Viewing Textbooks in AccessMedicine:

From the Readings tab, click on the desired text book or topic. You will then be provide with a table of contents. Drill down to reach the desired chapter, on the left of the screen there will be a listing of sections within the chapter you are viewing. Above the chapter’s text are the options to print a section of the chapter, email the chapter, or download the citation.

Self-Assessment Programs

Q & A content in AccessMedicine comes from Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine: Self-Assessment and Board Review, 18e, the Williams Obstetrics Study Guide, 23e, and the Lange Educational Library.

There are more than 10,000 online questions covering all of the disciplines and organ systems covered on the USMLE Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3. AccessMedicine also makes available 100 sample questions with full explanations from the PAEasy Qbank modeled after the exam blueprint.

To access these reviews, click on the Self-Assessment tab and make your selection. You must be logged in to your MyAccess account to use this feature.


When you are loggged in to your AccessMedicine account, you will also see a link to "Take Interactive Self-Assessment" when viewing textbooks: