Skip to main content

EDU 1000: K-12 databases

Orientation to Education

What are these databases?

This page of links takes you to possible databases that you might use in schools today. UT subscribes to these databases and we encourage you to familiarize yourself with them.

 

Databases for Children and Adolescents

Grade K-5 Kids Search is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for students in grades K-5. Kids Search provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary. The interface facilitates searching by topic, enabling users to easily enter keywords, or select topics or subtopics to search. Users can filter results by source type (magazines, newspapers, biographies, pictures, etc.).

Grades K-5 Searchasaurus is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. Searchasaurus provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Lexile limiters allow searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved.

Grades 4-8 Middle Search Plus  provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History.

Grades 7-12 MAS Ultra: School Edition provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines. Full text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.

Grades  6-12 Student Research Center is a search interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. SRC provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools to easily obtain the information that they need from their EBSCO databases. Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels. 

My Profile