Skip to main content

ENGL 2960: EBSCOhost

Organizational Report Writing

Journals vs. Magazines


•miscellaneous articles covering a wide variety of subject areas

•non-technical language

•articles submitted by writers or editors employed by magazine

Scholarly Peer-reviewed Journals

•reports of research carried in a particular subject

•written in language of the field

•bibliographic references given

•articles submitted by researchers and or experts in the field

•edited by referees, other experts, and editors

Where to go for articles...

Research Databases by Name: Lists of the research databases in an A-Z list.

Research Databases by Subject: Databases are broken down into content/subject areas. 

Online Journals List: Search by title or keyword, or browse by subject area.  This resource lists all of the online journals we subscribe to, along with dates of coverage from each electronic journal source.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center: "...a collection of full-text research journals, in 1998. The EJC contains more than 9,000 scholarly journal titles from 101 publishers across a wide range of disciplines. Researchers can download electronic articles instantly, read entire journal issues online, create e-mail or RSS alerts for new issues, save searches, and set up automatic search alerts for new search results. More than 3.7 million articles are used each year from the EJC, with a total of more than 37 million articles used since its inception."

To find articles search:

Academic Search Complete , is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study a large amount of content areas.

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

Recognize that one can search more than one EBSCOhost database at a time. Look in the right corner "choose databases".

To get the research databases another way:

  2. (on the left under "Quicklinks") click on "Research Databases by name" or "by subject"
  3. go to the appropriate database

Business/Academic Search Complete

Research databases