Chemistry: 0. Other Resources

Homepage of the chemistry department, with descriptions of programs, degrees, and faculty research.

The largest chemistry society.

Based in the United Kingdom.

Organization which, among other things, establishes standard methods of nomenclature for chemicals.

For the advancement of various types of spectrometric analysis.

Dealing with crystallography.

International society formed to advance the theory and practice of electrochemistry, solid-state science, and allied subjects.

An international society comprised of medical professionals with an interest in clinical chemistry, clinical laboratory science, and laboratory medicine.

From the American Chemical Society, provides contact information for academic chemistry researchers in North America. Updated every 2 years.

Links to copies of papers important to the progress of chemistry through history.

An extensive online dictionary of chemical terms from all fields with many interactive features.

Type in a name, get a structure. Simple as that. (Also get the InChI, SMILES, and CML representations, if you need those.)

From the National Institute of Standards & Technology, contains thermochemical and spectra data for thousands of compounds. You can search on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.

An open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes.

Simple database to translate common abbreviations into chemical names, such as EDTA = ethylenediaminetetraacetatic acid.

PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

ChemSpider is a chemistry search engine. It has been built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and make it available to everybody, at no charge.

A collection of pages for finding activity constants:
pKa in DMSO (Bordwell)
pKa (Evans)
pKa compilation (Williams)
pKa in Nonaqueous Solvents

Mutual solubilities and liquid-liquid equilibria of binary, ternary, and quaternary systems are presented.

Search by name or structure to find which chemical suppliers sell a particular chemical. Basic physical data is also presented.

Translates chemical acronyms into full chemical names and structures.

Comprehensive index to chemical and physical property data handbooks and websites... lists both printed and electronic sources according to the property of interest.

A downloadable dictionary file for your word processor to help it recognize chemistry-related words when doing spell-check.

Portal for Easy Access to Syntheses, Chemicals, and Reactions In Patents

A free database of over 14 million commercially-available compounds for virtual screening.

The ChemWiki project is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written partly by students and partly by faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplement conventional paper-based books.

The University of Toledo has a site license for this software, and you can request a download link at this site but you must use your university e-mail account to do so.

from ChemAxon

a cross-platform chemical drawing program

Note: this is a viewer, not a drawing program.

Advanced molecular editor designed for use in computational chemistry, molecular modeling, bioinformatics, materials science, and related areas.

part of the Chemistry Development Kit

Draw structures, perform IR and Raman functional group analysis, and generate high-quality reports.