Skip to main content

English Literature: Databases

Selected databases that will be useful for researchers in the area for English Literature.

Oxford Reference Resources

English Language Reference Resources

Databases for English Literature

Selected Research Databases for English Literature:

Click on the links to get access to databases the University Libraries subscribe to. Please enter your user name(first name and last) and rocket ID to get  off-campus access to the Research Databases.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Dates covered:1926-Present.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. You can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Dates of Coverage: 1980-

Project MUSE  

Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. 

  JSTOR Archive

JSTOR Archive provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals, it offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.  

 Humanities International Complete

 Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. .

 Literary Reference Center

 Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It includes plot summaries, literary criticism, full text of literary journals, biographies, book reviews, interviews, and images of key literary figures.

 Literature Resource Center from Gale

  Literature Resource Center from Gale Designed to meet the research needs of undergraduate and high school students, it provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. 

  Year's Work in English Studies   

This national narrative bibliography covers all quality work in English studies published in a given year. It is published by the Oxford University Press.

 Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses)

 Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.  New publications have been available electronically since 1997, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. Dates of Coverage: 1861-

 Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center

  Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK) is a free online database of masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities. Dates of Coverage: 2000-

  Academic Search Complete

  Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database. This resource indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications.  Dates of Coverage: 1984-

Early English Books Online

"Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700".