Skip to main content

Art and Art History: Articles

Gateway into art and art history resources at UT and beyond

Select OhioLINK databases for searching art

Art Full Text (OSearch interface)

Art Full Text (OSearch interface) indexes over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Entries in the database also cite any art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements, under the artists' names and covers titles published in European languages, as well as English-language sources.

Subject keywords: Advertising Art. Antiques. Archaeology. Architecture and Architectural History. Art History. Computers in Art. Crafts. Decorative Arts. Folk Art. Graphic Arts. Industrial Design. Interior Design. Landscape Architecture. Motion Pictures. Museology. Painting. Photography. Pottery. Sculpture. Television. Textiles. Video.

Art Full Text (Wilson interface)

Art Full Text (Wilson interface) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals

Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals indexes 42 art periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century. It describes articles, art notes, stories, poems and advertisements. This database offers essential information on artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collecting.

Subjects: architecture; art; artists; collecting; design; drawing; exhibitions; illustrators; painting; sculpture.

Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index)

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Dates of Coverage: 1975-  Hint:  After searching, refine your results by selecting art in the General and Subject Categories (copied for illustration purposes below).

Hide the General Categories General Categories
Hide the Subject Areas Subject Areas

 

 Project MUSE

Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

 JSTOR Archive

JSTOR Archive provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals, it offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections. The fifty-eight titles in the Language & Literature Collection span the literary cultures of many different countries, and contain articles in several languages. Developed with the help of the Modern Language Association, this collection includes PMLA and a range of core journals in the diverse fields of literary criticism that have emerged in the last thirty years.

 Humanities International Complete

Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications.

Find more here ...

 

Search EBSCOhost

To find book & media reviews on your topic, select the field "PS Reviews & Products" in EBSCOhost's Advanced Search option, and enter your search term.

Academic Search Complete

Search Google Scholar

Search Google for art-related articles.

Tip: limit your results to libraries close to you by setting your "library links" in Scholar Preferences.

Open Access (OA)

Citation Databases

Search:

and

at The Getty Research Institute.

Coverage:  1975 - 2007

Coverage:  1975 - present