CAS SciFinder-n Database: Home

CAS SciFinderⁿ is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder^®, CAS SciFinderⁿ includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.

Subjects:

CAS SciFinderⁿ covers all field of chemistry, broadly defined.  So, the traditional chemistry disciplines (organic, inorganic, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, etc.) as well as related disciplines in biology, medicine, and engineering (chemical engineering, geochemistry, agricultural chemistry, biomedical and medicinal chemistry, biotechnology, materials science, pharmacology, toxicology, environmental science and hazardous waste management.)

Databases Included:

• CAPlus - bibliographic entries from Chemical Abstracts back to 1907 and before.  Over 1,500 core chemical journals are included, as well as patents, books, conference procedings, etc.  Use 'Other Sources' to link to connect to electronic full text or check for print holdings.
• CAS REGISTRY - Chemicals and biochemical sequences searchable by name, number, formula, or structure, with experimental and predicted property data.
• CHEMLIST - Registry of regulated chemicals.
• CHEMCATS - Chemical supplier catalogs.
• CASREACT - Individually indexed reaction schemes back to 1840.
• MEDLINE - bibliographic entries in the medical sciences back to 1949

Click on the logo below to access CAS SciFinderⁿ using your personal registration.  Access is restricted to University of Toledo faculty, staff, and students conducting University-related research.

For a quick introduction to the CAS SciFinder-n platform, a Quick Reference Guide is available.

UToledo Libraries switched to the new CAS SciFinderⁿ interface in 2022. 

New features include: PatentPak links to additional international patent information, Retrosynthesis planning, and an updated search and structure drawing interface.

Registered SciFinder users will be able to use their previous accounts on the new CAS SciFinderⁿ platform, and some saved searches and alerts may be able to be preserved.  However, some types of searches such as Author and Company Name searches may need to be recreated in the new CAS SciFinderⁿ platform.  See CAS Help for details.