Skip to main content

Evidence-Based Practice: Filtered Resources

Filtered Resources

Filtered Resources appraise the quality of studies and often make recommendations for practice. Types of filtered sources:

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

Authors of a systematic review ask a specific clinical question, perform a comprehensive literature search, eliminate the poorly done studies and attempt to make practice recommendations based on the well-done studies. A meta-analysis is a systematic review that combines all the results of all the studies into a single statistical analysis of results.

Critically-Appraised Topics

Authors of critically-appraised topics evaluate and synthesize multiple research studies.

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

Authors of critically-appraised individual articles evaluate and synopsize individual research studies.

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

The Cochrane Library

Source of evidence about the effects of health care. Updated regularly and includes these databases:

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
  • Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
  • Cochrane Methodology Register
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database
  • Health Technology Assessment Database
  • Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (CDMR)

Help guides are available from Cochrane)

The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE)

Full-text database containing structured abstracts of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.

[As of January 2015 funding for DARE will cease -- no new content will be added. Existing content may be accessed through the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (National Health Service, UK).]

Systematic Reviews searchable in MEDLINE:

Gathers systematic reviews into a single searchable resource. 

The public version of PubMed can be accessed through

Evidence-based Tool

The Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (US Department of Health and Human Services) coordinates, supports, and reports on all Federal quality improvement efforts and health services research. Links to freely available evidence reports and technology assessments on topics relevant to clinical, social science/behavioral, economic, and other health care organization and delivery issues.

OT Seeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence)

OTSeeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist one in evaluating their validity and interpretability. Published by a team of occupational therapists from two Australian universities.

Center for Review and Dissemination

The CRD databases (from National Institute of Health Research at the University of York) are updated daily and provide decision-makers with access to over 9,000 quality assessed systematic reviews, including summaries of all Cochrane reviews and protocols.

Critically-Appraised Topics

Clinical Key

Point-of-care, clinical information service for physicians, surgeons and other healthcare professionals. Contains full text of 1,000+ books and 500+ journals as well as millions of MEDLINE citations and abstracts. Also contains all monographs and procedural videos from Elsevier's First Consult and Procedures Consult; all Clinical Pharmacology monographs from Gold Standard; over 13,000 medical and surgical videos; millions of images; over 2,000 practice guidelines; and patient education handouts. This resource replaces MD Consult, which has been phased out.


Evidence-based clinical reference tool designed for use at "point of care." Contains summaries derived from peer-reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases for 3,000+ topics covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs. Also includes patient information and links to PubMed citations and abstract and full-text articles and practice guidelines.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.

Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

The ACP Journal Club

The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article. Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.


Bandolier (maintained by the Pain Research Unit at the University of Oxford) distills evidence-based medicine techniques from PubMed and Cochrane to provide advice about particular treatments for healthcare professionals and consumers. This freely available content may be accessed through the Knowledge Library, the monthly journal, extended essays, and the Oxford Pain Internet Site.


A searchable database of the evidence from the medical literature from DynaMed Plus and McMaster University. Articles are pre-rated for quality, then rated for clinical relevance. 

Health Services Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)

The US National Library of Medicine sponsors this free resource that provides health information and supports health care decision making. Full text documents include Evidence Reports, Evidence Report Summaries, AHRQ Comparative Effectiveness ReviewsAHRQ Technical Reviews and Summaries, Publication and Reports of the Surgeon General, Clinical Practice Guidelines, and a Guides to Clinical Preventive Services.