Skip to main content

Theatre and Performance: Stage craft

Theatre Resources

Find Books on theatre Management

For books on theater management, audience development, fundraising and related topics, try these Subject searches in UTMOST catalog:

Theater management

Theater--Economic aspects

Arts fund raising

Performing arts--Ticket subscription

Performing arts--Public relations

Theatre Links

The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama

Provides links to Theatre studies, articles and resources bibliographies, databases, libraries, museums , archives and scholarly organizations, It links to resources in more than 50 countries around the world. 

Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies

 Large, well organized guide to theatre and performance studies maintained by Ken McCoy at Stetson University.

 Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design

 A collection of digital images of costumes from more than 150 productions in the US and UK from 1932-1976. Maintained at the at the University of Illinois  Urbana-Champaign.

Costumes, Arms and Armour 

This site provides links to arms and armour and costumes from all over the world.

STAGECRAFT

Stagecraft and Technical Theatre

Elizabethan Costuming Page 

An an excellent site for both amateur and professional costumers , with information on history, design and construction techniques. Links provided to other excellent sites. 

Glossary of Technical Theatre Terms: Theatrecrafts.com

Jon Primrose of tje University of Exeter Drama Department (UK) hosts this site. It  provides access to a comprehensive, searchable glossary of English-language theatre terms. 

The History of Costume by Braun & Scheider

This illustrated book of costume design was published by Braun & Scheider in c.1861-1880. The web site is a very useful resource for costume designers and directors.

Lighting & Electronics

An excellent resource for lighting designers and electricians, provides links to news services and magazines.

Lighting

 Jack Wolcott 's site lists lighting resources for theatre and drama.

The Stagehand Primer

Focuses on Stagehands and Apprentices of IATSE Local 470 in Northeast Wisconsin. Has good information for technicians and students of theatre as it provides clear definitions and procedures for everyday operation of theatre productions.

The Theatre Design and Tech Jobs Page

A free online jobs resource.

USITT

The web site for the association of design, production, and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry in the USA.

Profile

Rick Kruzel's picture
Rick Kruzel
Contact:
Carlson Library Mail Stop 509
419-530-4129
Subjects:Communication