Skip to main content

Digital Humanities: Archives & Digital Collections

A guide supporting digital scholarship in History and the Humanities using computing and asynchronous collaboration

Digital Resources in Ohio

Archivers and Libraries in Ohio and the Toledo area provide rich resources for DH projects.  Archival finding aids help project participants identify specific items in the collections, which include original documents, images, maps, and artifact.s

By State

The state-by-state layout of state and regional archives and libraries can help researchers and project participants locate the needed information in those archives. While many archives have begun digitizing their collection, not all materials will be available in digital format.

Alabama
Archives Alabama Department of Archives & History
Digital Collections ADAH Digital Archives
Alabama Digital Preservation Network
Alabama History Online
AlabamaMosaic
 Alaska
Archives Alaska State Archives
Digital Collections Alaska Historical Collections
Alaska's Digital Archives
Northwest Digital Archives
SLED: Alask's Virtual Library & Digital Archive
 Arizona
Archives History and Archives Division
Digital Collections Arizona Archives Online
Arizona Memory Project
Western Waters Digital Library
 Arkansas
Archives Arkansas History Commission
Digital Collections Arkansas History Commission
Arkansas Photo Collection
 California
Archives California State Archives
Digital Collections California Digital Library
California State Archives' collections
Calisphere
Online Archive of California
San Fernando Valley History Digital Library
 Colorado
Archives Colorado State Archives
Digital Collections Alliance Digital Repository
Colorado Historic Newspapers
Colorado State Archives - Digital Records
Denver Public Library Digital Collections
Heritage West
Photographs from the Mining Collection
Rocky Mountain Online Archive
Western Waters Digital Library
 Connecticut
Archives Connecticut State Archives
Digital Collections Connecticut History Online
Connecticut State Library Digital Collections 
Connecticut’s Heritage Gateway
History and Genealogy
 Delaware
Archives Delaware Public Archives
Digital Collections Delaware Heritage Collection
Digital Archives
University of Delaware Digital Library Collection
 District of Columbia
Archives Historical Society of Washington, D.C.
Digital Collections WRLC Libraries Digital and Special Collections
see also: National Collections further down this page
 Florida
Archives State Archives of Florida
Digital Collections Florida Memory Project
Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM)
University of Florida Digital Collections
 Georgia
Archives Georgia Archives
Digital Collections Virtual Georgia
Virtual Vault
 
 Guam
Archives Guam Preservation Trust
   
 Hawaii
Archives Hawai`i State Archives
Digital Collections Hawai`i State Archives Digital Collections
   
 Idaho
Archives Idaho State Archives
Digital Collections Albertsons Library Digital Collections. Boise State University
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Idaho Digital Resources
Idaho State Digital Archive
Idaho State Historical Society Digital Collections
Mountain West Digital Library
Northwest Digital Archives
 Illinois
Archives Illinois State Archives
Digital Collections CARLI Digital Collections
Digital Illinois
Illinois Digital Archives
Upper Mississippi Valley - Digital Image Archive
 Indiana
Archives Indiana State Archives Collections
Digital Collections Indiana Historical Bureau
Indiana Historical Society Digital Image Collections
Indiana Memory
Indiana State Digital Archives
 Iowa
Archives State Archives of Iowa Collections
Digital Collections Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
Iowa Legislature Heritage Digital Collections
Iowa Pathways
Upper Mississippi Valley - Digital Image Archive
 Kansas
Archives Kansas Historical Society
Digital Collections Kansas Memory
Online Collections
Western Trails Project
 Kentucky
Archives Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
Digital Collections Digital Library of Appalachia
Kentuckiana Digital Library
 Louisiana
Archives Louisiana State Archives
Digital Collections LOUISiana Digital Library
   
 Maine
Archives Maine State Archives
Digital Collections Maine Memory Network
   
 Maryland
Archives Maryland State Archives
Digital Collections Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage
Maryland Historical Society-Collections Online
 Massachusetts
Archives Massachusetts Archives
Digital Collections American Centuries...view from New England
Digital Treasures
Massachusetts Digital Commonwealth
 Michigan
Archives Archives of Michigan
Digital Collections Making of Modern Michigan
Seeking Michigan
Virtual Motor City
 Minnesota
Archives Minnesota State Archives Collection
Digital Collections Minnesota Digital Library
Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Maps Online
 Mississippi
Archives Mississippi Archives Collections
Digital Collections Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive
Mississippi Digital Archives
Mississippi Digital Library
University of Southern Mississippi Digital Collections
 Missouri
Archives Missouri State Archives Collection
Digital Collections Missouri Digital Heritage
   
 Montana
Archives Archive Montana
Digital Collections Montana Memory Project
Northwest Digital Archives
 Nebraska
Archives Nebraska State Historical Society Collections
Digital Collections Nebraska Memories
Nebraska Western Trails
Western Waters Digital Library
 Nevada
Archives Nevada State Library and Archives
Digital Collections Discover Nevada History
Mountain West Digital Library
Nevada State Digital Initiative
 New Hampshire
Archives New Hamphshire Archives and Records Management
Digital Collections University of New Hampshire Digital Collections
   
 New Jersey
Archives New Jersey State Archives Collections
Digital Collections New Jersey Digital Highway
   
 New Mexico
Archives New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
Digital Collections New Mexico Digital History Project
Online Archive of New Mexico
Online Catalog
Rocky Mountain Online Archive
Western Waters Digital Library
 New York
Archives New York State Archives
Digital Collections Digital Collections
Digital Metro New York
Excelsior: New York State Library/Archives/Museum Catalog
Finger Lakes and Genesee Heritage
Hudson River Valley Heritage
New York Heritage
 North Carolina
Archives North Carolina State Archives
Digital Collections Digital Library of Appalachia
Eastern North Carolina Digital Library
North Carolina Digital Collections
North Carolina Exploring Cultural Heritage Online (ECHO)
 North Dakota
Archives North Dakota State Archives
Digital Collections Digital Horizons
State Historical Society of North Dakota
 Ohio
Archives Ohio Historical Society Archives
Digital Collections Ohio History Central
Ohio Memory
OhioLINK
Ohio's Heritage Northeast
The Cleveland Memory Project
Toledo's Attic
 Oklahoma
Archives Oklahoma State Archives Collections
Digital Collections Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture
Oklahoma Crossroads
Oklahoma Heritage Online
 Oregon
Archives Oregon State Archives
Digital Collections Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Northwest Digital Archives
Oregon History Project
Western Waters Digital Library
 Pennsylvania
Archives Pennsylvania State Archives
Digital Collections Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
Historic Pittsburgh
Life in Western Pennsylvania
 Puerto Rico
Archives Archivo General de Puerto Rico
   
 Rhode Island
Archives Rhode Island State Archives
Digital Collections Providence Public Library Exhibitions, Images, and Special Collections 
   
 South Carolina
Archives South Carolina Department of Archives and History
Digital Collections Lowcountry Digital Library
South Carolina Digital Library 
 South Dakota
Archives South Dakota State Historical Society
Digital Collections Digital Library of South Dakota
South Dakota Memory
 Tennessee
Archives Tennessee State Library and Archives
Digital Collections Digital Library of Appalachia
Tennessee Digital Collections
Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture
Volunteer Voices
 Texas
Archives Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Digital Collections Portal to Texas History
Texas Digital Library
Texas Heritage Online
 Utah
Archives Utah State Archives 
Digital Collections Digital Utah
Mountain West Digital Library
Utah History Encyclopedia
Utah's Newspapers (Recent & Historical Archives)
Western Waters Digital Library
 Vermont
Archives Vermont State Archives and Records Administration
Digital Collections Digital Collections at Middlebury
Freedom and Unity Collection
Harold G. Rugg Collection
University of Vermont Libraries' Center for Digital Initiatives
Vermont Historical Society Image Collections
Vermont State Archives Photograph Collections
 Virginia
Archives Virginia Historical Society
Digital Collections Digital Library of Appalachia
Encyclopedia Virginia
Virginia Memory
 Virgin Islands (U.S.)
Archives Division of Libraries, Archives & Museums
   
 Washington
Archives Washington State Archives
Digital Collections Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Digital Archives
HistoryLink.org: The Online Encyclopedia of Washington State History
King County Snapshots
Northwest Digital Archives
Washington Rural Heritage
Washington State Digital Libraries Portal
Washington State Library Digital Collections and Resources
Western Waters Digital Library
 West Virginia
Archives West Virginia State Archives
Digital Collections Digital Library of Appalachia
West Virginia Archives and History, History Center
West Virginia Memory Project
 Wisconsin
Archives Wisconsin Historical Society
Digital Collections American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
State of Wisconsin Collection
Turning Points in Wisconsin History
Wisconsin Heritage Online
Wisconsin Historical Images
Wisconsin Local History & Biography Articles
 Wyoming
Archives Wyoming State Archives
Digital Collections Rocky Mountain Online Archive
Western Trails - Wyoming Collection
Wyoming Memory
National
American Memory (Library of Congress)
Digital State Archives (multi-state index to digital collections)
Directory of State and Territorial Archivists
Interactive map/ Resource Center (Council of State Archivists)
Making of America
National Archives
State Digital Resources: Memory Projects, Online Encyclopedias, Historical & Cultural Materials Collections 
Teachers: Primary Source Sets