Skip to main content

ENGL 4/5650 African American Writers Pre-20th Century: Internet Resources

Slave narratives, autobiographies, fictional prose and poems and speeches.


Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.

The Abolition Project : Olaudah Equiano

Booker T. Washington, 1856-1915

The Cultural Significance of Solomon Northup’s Twelve Years a Slave

The book Twelve Years a Slave: Narrative of Solomon Northup, a Citizen of New York, Kidnapped in Washington City in 1841 and Rescued in 1853 can be accessed freely from the University of North Carolina's site Documenting the American South.

Library of Congress American Memory

American Memory is the Library of Congress's gateway to primary source documents on American history and culture. There are hundreds of collections available online: use the Collection Finder to begin your search.You can browse the collection by topic, by time period, can browse collection by format like maps, motion pictures photos, manuscripts and by place.

African American History: 8 collections

Slaves and Courts 1740-1860

African American Women Writers

Digital Schomburg: The New York Public Library provides access to full text of 52 published works by black women writers from the late 18th to the early 20th century. Browse by title, author, or type of work: fiction, poetry, biography and autobiography, and essays.

The African Americans - Many Rivers to Cross - with Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
'Noted Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr. recounts the full trajectory of African-American history in his groundbreaking new six-part series The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross with Henry Louis Gates, Jr.'