Skip to main content

Library Toolkit for Student Research: EBSCOhost Databases

Essenial tools and resources for research

Where to go for articles...

Research Databases by Name: Lists of the research databases in an A-Z list.

Research Databases by Subject: Databases are broken down into content/subject areas.  subscriptions.

Online Journals List: Search by title or keyword, or browse by subject area.  This resource lists all of the online journals we subscribe to, along with dates of coverage from each electronic journal source.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center: "...a collection of full-text research journals, in 1998. The EJC contains more than 9,000 scholarly journal titles from 101 publishers across a wide range of disciplines. Researchers can download electronic articles instantly, read entire journal issues online, create e-mail or RSS alerts for new issues, save searches, and set up automatic search alerts for new search results. More than 3.7 million articles are used each year from the EJC, with a total of more than 37 million articles used since its inception."

To find articles search:

All majors:

Academic Search Complete , is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study a large amount of content areas.

Recognize that one can search more than one EBSCOhost database at a time. Look in the right corner "choose databases".

To get the research databases another way:

  1. utoledo.edu/library
  2. (on the left under "Quicklinks") click on "Research Databases by name"
  3. go to the appropriate database

Health Science Majors

Health-science based majors add:

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 170 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for over 300 periodicals. Also included is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 136 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society, and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index.

Computer Science Majors

Computer Science majors add:

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.

Science Majors

For Science Majors:

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Journals vs. Magazines

Magazines:

•miscellaneous articles covering a wide variety of subject areas

•non-technical language

•articles submitted by writers or editors employed by magazine

Scholarly Peer-reviewed Journals

•reports of research carried in a particular subject

•written in language of the field

•bibliographic references given

•articles submitted by researchers and or experts in the field

•edited by referees, other experts, and editors

Journals vs. Magazines

Magazines:

•miscellaneous articles covering a wide variety of subject areas

•non-technical language

•articles submitted by writers or editors employed by magazine

Scholarly Peer-reviewed Journals

•reports of research carried in a particular subject

•written in language of the field

•bibliographic references given

•articles submitted by researchers and or experts in the field

•edited by referees, other experts, and editors