Skip to main content

Scholarly Communication: Directories

What is scholarly communication? This guide serves as an introduction to open access publishing as well as a guide to facilitate scholarly communication and collaboration.

Bibliography on OA

Charles Bailey's definitive guide.

Repositories

A definitive directory of worldwide OA repositories and their policies:  ROARMAP

Check OPENDOAR also for academic OA repositories around the world.

See list of over 1500 repositories worldwide at Open Archives.

MELIBEA is an international directory listing both institutional repositories and their individual OA policies and requirements.  It features a unique "estimator" that compares institutions with one another with respect to their "OA values" (their degree of openness with regard to publicly funded research).

FSO Online

Check out our Fulltext Sources Online directory (by subscription only)

FSO is a directory of over 47,000 full-text
newspapers, journals, magazines,
newsletters, and transcripts
from 28 aggregators and content providers

Access to State Government Information

Did you know that there is no federal law requiring states to make their official publications freely accessible (i.e., non-copyrighted, public domain)?

FSGI is a movement to determine from our patchwork of states which ones have copyright laws, which ones don't, and which ones are ambiguous in their treatment of disseminating public information.

 

Free State Government Information!

LEGAL INFORMATION: The American Association of Law Libraries has created a searchable map by state to display level of public access (openness) to digital legal information.

See Ohio's status.

See Michigan's status.

Cabell's

In this age of unscrupulous predatory behavior following the journal publishing industry, Cabell's Directories is a trustworthy resource for locating publishing outlets for your research.  Researchers can count on the quality of the journals listed in Cabell's.

Below, from their website:

Quality

To be considered for inclusion in Cabell’s Directories, journals are subject to the following criteria:

  • Integrity: Articles published in the journal must be sufficiently protected from unauthorized modifications or falsifications.
  • Objectivity: Articles published in the journal must be verified by a review process.
  • Substantive Merit: Articles published in the journal must be professional and/or definitive.
  • Utility/Importance: Articles published in the journal must be relevant to current priorities in its field and be of interest to the academic community.