Skip to main content

Library Materials for the College of Medicine and Life Sciences: EBM - Researcher's Perspective

This guide provides easy access to library resources for faculty, staff, students, fellows, and residents in the College of Medicine and Life Sciences.

What is Evidence-Based Practice?

Evidence-Based Medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values. (Sackett DL, Straus SE, Richardson WS, et al. Evidence-based medicine: how to practice and teach EBM. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone, 2000.)

 

 

EBM Pyramid

 

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus

Trip is an Internet search engine for evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets (full-text may or may not be provided).

 

Adopted from EBM Pyramid and EBM Page Generator, copyright 2006 Trustees of Dartmouth College and Yale University. All Rights Reserved.
Produced by Jan Glover, David Izzo, Karen Odato and Lei Wang. 

More About Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Medicine Information Sites

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University)

The Centre promotes evidence-based health care and provide support and resources to anyone who wants to make use of them. Includes the EBM Toolbox, an assortment of materials which are very useful for practitioners of EBM, and EBM Teaching Materials, including PowerPoint presentations.


Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Toronto Libraries)

Includes many resources for practicing and teaching EBM.


Evidence-Based Practice

A selective list of additional EBM websites developed and maintained by Duke University Medical Center Library.


Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit

A collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making based on the work of the Evidence Based Medicine Working Group. The site contains in-depth search strategies for finding EBM articles and guides to using them.


Selected Evidence-Based Public Health Web Sites (Connecticut State Department of Public Health)


Evidence-Based Practice

The University of Washington maintains this list of links to EBM resources. The site has links to finding tools, definitions, glossaries, calculators, and evidence-based medicine research.


Evidence-Based Medicine: Teaching Materials

From the Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries.