Skip to main content

Medical and Health Calculators/Apps

A guide for medical and health calculators chiefly for UToledo clinicians and medical students with an additional section for all (chiefly patients).

Setting up Apps - ClinicalKey and Dynamed

Select UToledo Subscription Based Apps

 


 

ClinicalKey a point-of-care clinical information service. Includes full text of 1,000+ books, all monographs and procedural videos from Elsevier's First Consult and Procedures Consult; all Clinical Pharmacology monographs from Gold Standard; over 13,000 Elsevier medical and surgical videos; millions of images; over 2,000 practice guidelines; and patient education handouts.

App download information at https://www.clinicalkey.com/info/blog/clinicalkey-mobile-app/



DynaMed - Evidence-based clinical reference tool designed for use at "point of care". Contains summaries derived from peer-reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases for 3,000+ topics covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs.

Download information - Click on Mobile at the top of the Dynamed Web page (above). More info about downloading/installing at https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/DynaMed/DynaMed_Mobile_App/install_authenticate_DynaMed_app


More Select UToledo Subscription Based Apps

Access Medicine contains full text of 80+ medical books published by McGraw-Hill. Also includes images, multimedia
files, clinical case files, exam review questions, diagnostic tools, drug monographs, practice
guidelines and patient education handouts. Also includes the following apps

  • Quick Medical Dx an dRX – evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice
  •  Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology – provides color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases
  • Diagnosaurus –  differential diagnosis tool with more than 1,000 diagnoses. Browse by symptom, disease,or organ system.
  • Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests –  quick reference to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests include laboratory procedures in the clinicalsetting.

Download App
   Google Android
   App Store ITunes



Mobile Apps for Health Sciences  - CINAHL (or other EBSCO databases**)

To download, go to CINAHL. Scroll down to the bottom of the page until you see:

Mobile Site | iPhone and Android apps | EBSCO Support Site | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Copyright

Select iPhone and Android apps, then enter in your email address and hit "Send". An email from ephost@epnet.com will be sent to you with instructions.
On your mobile device download the EBSCOhost app from iTunes or Google Play. Once installed, access the email from your mobile device and click on the "Authentication Key". 

Available as part of the Ebsco package for Android and iPhone
            Wireless access is required to use this app.



**Major  EbscoHost  Health Science databases include

  •    CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) i
    • Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields
    • Nursing dissertations, standards of practice documents, and audiovisuals.
    • Clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus
    • Clinical point-of-care resource
    • Disease overviews with evidence-based treatment summaries
    • Nursing skills and competencies; nursing care plans
    • Drug and patient education information
  • PsycInfo 
    • Journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports
    • Behavioral science and mental health topics in many disciplines
  • Health Source (Nursing and Consumer editions)
    • Academic edition includes journal articles, drug monographs (prescription, OTC, supplements, and herbs)
    • Consumer edition includes index to magazines as well as many full text books

And More Select UToledo Subscription Based Apps

Visual Dx - a web-based clinical decision support system proven to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety
Download instructions here (below the search box).
Register first through the Sign In link in the upper right corner.

Remote Access Instructions - UpToDate

Note: To get access to UptoDate remotely, it is necessary to create a personal account using your University of Toledo email address. We recommend you create an account on a personal computer, tablet, or phone from the following locations:

  • University of Toledo - Health Science Campus
  • University of Toledo - Main Campus
  • University of Toledo Medical Center
  • ProMedica

PDF instructions for establishing remote access are attached below.

Please email margaret.hoogland@utoledo.edu or call 419.383.4214 if you have any questions!

For existing UptoDate account issues, please contact UptoDate directly by calling 1.800.998.6374 or by emailing customerservice@uptodate.com