Skip to main content

Ward M. Canaday Center for Special Collections: About

Ward M. Canaday Center General Information:

The Ward M. Canaday Center, located on the fifth floor of the William S. Carlson Library, houses William S. Carlson Library's special collections, rare book collection, and University Archives in a secure and climate-controlled environment. Construction of the Center, which opened in 1979, was made possible by a gift from Mrs. Doreen Canaday Spitzer, the daughter of Ward M. Canaday. 

Visitors enter the Canaday Center through a large exhibit area (also used for Friends events and other public programs related to the collections). Several exhibits are held every year: topics have included the history of the Toledo glass industry, T.S. Eliot, and UT architecture. There is also a reading room for patrons and a seminar room for classes using special collections material.

Because of the rarity and uniqueness of the collections, the materials of the Canaday Center do not circulate. Researchers wishing to use the collections must register and use the materials in the Canaday Center's supervised reading room and agree to follow guidelines pertaining to the use of Canaday Center materials. The collections are open to University of Toledo faculty and students as well as the general public. The Center’s hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and by appointment.

Search the Canaday Center Website

Advanced

Meet the Canaday Center Faculty & Staff:

Director and University Archivist:                

Barbara Floyd, barbara.floyd@utoledo.edu, 419.530.2170

Manuscripts Librarian:

Lauren White, Lauren.White2@utoledo.edu, 419-530-8550

Curator/Assistant University Archivist:

Sara Mouch, Sara.Mouch@utoledo.edu, 419-530-5578

Audio-visual Specialist

Richard Kruzel, richard.kruzel@utoledo.edu, 419-530-4129

Librarian:                                 

Tamara Jones, tamara.jones2@utoledo.edu, 419.530.4480       

Digital Initiatives Librarian:                                

Arjun Sabharwal, arjun.sabharwal@utoledo.edu, 419.530.4497

                  


Mailing Address

The Ward M. Canaday Center for Special Collections
The University of Toledo, Mail Stop 509
2801 Bancroft
Toledo, Ohio 43606-3390
email: CanadayCenter@utoledo.edu
Fax: 419.530.4550