Skip to main content

Ward M. Canaday Center for Special Collections: University Archives & Manuscripts

University Archives, Manuscripts, and Records Management

The UniversPostcard of University Hallity of Toledo Archives serves as the institutional memory of the university. By collecting, preserving, and making available the historical records that document the university from its founding in 1872 to the present day, the archives serves students, faculty, staff, alumni, administrators, and community members. Collections include office files, personal papers of University of Toledo faculty members, publications of the university, files on student organizations, photographs, and theses and dissertations by University of Toledo graduate students. Most of the collections are available to researchers under the provisions of Ohio’s public record laws.

The University Archives has recently begun establishing a new archive on the Health Sciences Campus of the University of Toledo (formerly the Medical University of Ohio). This archive will document the history of the former Medical College of Ohio.  Researchers interested in utilizing the materials of the newly formed Health Sciences Archive should contact the University Archivist for more information.

The collections of University Archives do not circulate, but limited photocopies can be made by Canaday Center staff, depending on condition. Copy photographs can be ordered for a fee. Some collections are housed at the Northwest Ohio Book Depository, and may require up to 72 hours notice for access.

The collections of University Archives are not cataloged in the UT Library Catalog. However, inventories to all of the collections are available in the Canaday Center reading room. Researchers interested in any aspect of the university’s history are encouraged to contact Barbara Floyd, University Archivist, at (419) 530-2170, ( to discuss their research needs.

University Archives is the office responsible for administering the university's records management program. All university records as defined by the state of Ohio's public records laws must be scheduled for retention or destruction through University Archives. Offices should contact Barbara Floyd, university archivist, at ext. 2170 to establish a records retention schedule that meets the guidelines of the Inter-University Council of Ohio's records management manual. 

Offices with approved records schedules must complete a Certificate of Records Disposal prior to disposing of records. Contact Floyd at ext. 2170 for a certificate form.

University Manuscripts

University Manuscripts includes collections of personal papers and organizational records that are related to the University of Toledo and help to document its history.  These include papers of university faculty members and organizations affiliated with the university such as sororities and fraternities.  These collections are available during the regular business hours of the Canaday Center. 

For information on specific collections, contact Barbara Floyd, university archivist, at 419-530-2170.