About Maps at UT Libraries
The Library has maps and geographic information in many formats: single maps (sheet maps), and atlases, for example. In addition to the Map Collection, maps may also be found in the Reference, Government Documents, the General Collection, and online.
UT Library Catalog Search
Other LibGuides of Interest
- Last Updated May 22, 2013
A guide supporting digital scholarship in History and the Humanities using computing and asynchronous collaboration
126 views this year
- Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Information about contemporary and historical Gypsy (Romany) and Traveler cultures.
0 views this year
- Last Updated May 9, 2011
A quick guide to finding socioeconomic data for a particular census tract using a street address.
30 views this year
Geography & Map Librarian
Finding Maps in the UT Library Catalog
Maps can most effectively be found in the UT Library Catalog by conducting a keyword search with the phrase 'd:maps' in the search. This will find materials where the subject heading contains the word maps. Use the Location information to determine which collection the map, atlas, or book is in.
Or, topograhic maps of Ohio and other Great Lakes states can be found with a
- Keyword search for Ohio quadrangle, Indiana quadrangle, etc.
- or Title search for: Toledo quadrangle Ohio, Gary quadrangle Indiana, etc. if you know the name of the quadrangle.
Finding Maps Online
The libraries have access to several databases that provide specialized geographic information from OhioLINK. There are also plenty of free map-related sites on the Internet.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867-1970. - AP Images
By clicking on Print Graphics from the More Media menu and searching for a geographic term, you can find news graphics which often contain maps. - The Perry-Castenada LibraryKeeps a very detailed page of maps, including maps for sites of current news interest and outline maps.
- National Geographic Society
- Google MapsOne of several popular street mapping sites. Can be used for directions, overlayed with aerial imagery, etc.
- Bing MapsOnline map service with directions, 'bird's eye view', etc.
- CIA Maps & Publications
De-classified maps from the Central Intelligence Agency. Great for basic political boundary and simple terrain maps. Images available, full maps available for purchase. - United Nations Cartographic SectionDetailed maps available as PDF for countries, regions, and UN Mission areas.
- USGS StoreOrder or download topographic ('topo') maps. Downloads are free and are in a special GeoPDF format.
- David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionMany historical maps are available on this site.
- Old Maps OnlineHistorical maps from the David Rumsey Collection and other historical map collections with a great search interface.
Carlson Library Map Collection
The Map Collection is located on the east side of the third floor of Carlson Library and consists of sheet maps and atlases. These maps are for reference use, and therefore do not circulate. However, exceptions may be made for items to be used briefly in the classroom or for projects of short duration.
Maps are arranged by Library of Congress classification numbers. Atlases are on stands in the Collection.
Most of the collection consists of topographic maps (showing contours and elevation) for the Great Lakes states (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin, as well at the Canadian province of Ontario) from the United States Geological Survey. These are arranged in drawers by call numbers that group states by geographic region, with the maps filed alphabetically by quadrangle name. An index is included in each drawer.
| Place | Call Number (All Start with 'G') |
| UNITED STATES | 3700 |
| Illinois | 4100 |
| Indiana | 4090 |
| Michigan | 4110 |
| Minnesota | 4140 |
| New York | 3800 |
| North Carolina | 3900 |
| North Dakota | 4170 |
| Ohio | 4080 |
| Pennsylvania | 3820 |
| Wisconsin | 4120 |
| Ontario (Canadian Province) | 3460 |

Loading...
