Open Education Resources

Apps, Apps, Apps!  Apps for industry; Apps for defense. Apps for Education, too? You bet. The trick to find the right app for the right need is still a little rough. Like any software they do not work all the time over every operatiing system change and can crash. Buyer beware you get what you pay for etc. You might also follow @EducationalGames on Twitter

You think you want to be a teacher. Teachers teach, right? What do they teach? Stuff, right? Stuff someone thinks is important for students like you to know, right? As a teacher you will probably think what you teach is important too. That means you probably have a philosophy, a system of thinking and reasoning that informs you about what you feel is important and why.

Here a few surveys that will help you answer what your philosophy of education is at this moment.

Survey 1   Survey 2    Survey 3

"Know your resources," says Praxis Onedee!

Transition to College

National Library of Education Glossary

Learning Theory Wheel

OhioLINK Databases for pre-K - 12

Databases provided by OhioLINK and by the University of Toledo; available in ALL Ohio K-12 schools and libraries...

Start developing usable inquiry-based, resource-based, and problem-based lesson plans that work.

Kids Search (grades K-5)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=srck5

Graphical search interface for students in grades K-5. (more…)

 Primary Search (for elementary school students)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=prh

Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines. (more…)

Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=sas

Graphical interface for elementary and middle school students. (more…)

Middle Search Plus (for middle school students)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=mih

Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines. (more…)

Student Research Center (grades 6-12)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=SRC

Graphical search interface for students in grades 6-12. (more…)

MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines, 8-12)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=f5h

Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience. (more…)

MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=web&defaultdb=ulh

Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines. (more…)

Also recommended...

Academic Search Complete (for high school students)
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. (more…)

Digital Media Center (OhioLINK)
http://dmc.ohiolink.edu/

Collections of electronic images, videos, and sound. (more…)

Digital Resource Commons
http://drc.ohiolink.edu/

The OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons is a network of centrally hosted institutional repositories featuring local branding, remote submission and administration, and federated searching. (more…)

Digital Video Collection
http://dmc.ohiolink.edu/cgi/i/image/image-idx?page=index;c=dvc

Full-length educational films and documentaries on many subjects. (more…)

Tweeter feeds can be a useful source of information and contact. Because I am interested in education trends globally, some of the feeds that I follow are OECD Education @OECD_Edu, UNESCO ICT in ED @UNESCOICTs, and Helen Clark @HelenClarkUNDP.

You can search for feeds once you have joined up (http://twitter.com)