Definitions: Specialized Dictionaries
McGraw-Hill dictionary of bioscience
Call Number: MULFORD Reference (4th fl) QH302.5 M1475 1997
Terms and definitions from biology, botany, ecology, evolution, genetics, invertebrate zoology, microbiology, mycology, paleontology, systematics, and zoology.The Facts on File dictionary of environmental science
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) TD9 .W95 2001- Oxford Reference Online: Earth & Environmental Sciences
Search a variety of environmental science dictionaries and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press. The dictionary of environmental science and engineering
Call Number: MCMASTER Engineering GE10 .P43 2008
A dictionary of environment and conservation
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) GE10 .P375 2007
Encyclopedias
Environmental science : in context
Call Number: Electronic Book
"It brings together original essays written by leading experts in the field, primary source documents, and sidebars on the cultural, economic, and political issues surrounding scientific thought -- providing insights on leading social issues and spurring critical thinking about the impact of science on daily life and globalization."Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) QE741 .E53 2007 (4 Volumes)
The quaternary sciences constitute a dynamic, multidisciplinary field of research that has been growing in scientific and societal importance in recent years. This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments.Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution
Call Number: Electronic Book
Provides a current assessment of the world's ecosystems, including coverage of all plant and animal life, analysis of species moving towards extinction, and data on human population growth.Encyclopedia of environmental studies
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) TD9 .A84 2001
Defines terms dealing with botany, economics, chemistry, ecology, biology, geography, and geology, and identifies important organizations, individuals, and eventsThe Oxford companion to the earth
Call Number: Electronic Book
All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered.
Searching for Books
You can find books in the UT Library Catalog using either keywords for your topic, or using Subject Headings such as those listed below.
Searching by keyword allows you to find words mentioned in book titles, chapter titles, subjects, and author names. Keyword searches can be combined to find books on two or more topics using AND or OR. Searching by Subject Heading is more precise, but searches for broad topics in the book. See the UT Library Catalog Guide for more information about searching.
Some subject headings you may want to start at include the following. Some will have cross references to other related topics, and most will have sub-headings for more specific topics, formats, or geographic areas:
- Ecology
- Biodiversity
- Wildlife Conservation
- Evolution
- Geology
- Earth Sciences
- Soils
- Names of specific organisms, etc. (e.g., C. Elegans)
UT Library Catalog Search
Browsing for Environmental Sciences Books
The UT Libraries use the Library of Congress Call Number system for organizing our books. You can browse the shelves in our libraries in the following call numbers:
| GB | Physical Geography |
| GC | Oceanography |
| GE | Environmental Sciences |
| GF | Human Ecology |
| QC 801-849 | Geophysics / Geomagnetism |
| QE | Geology |
| QH1-(199.5) | Natural History General Including nature conservation, geographical distribution |
| QH359-425 | Evolution |
| QH426-470 | Genetics |
| QH471-489 | Reproduction |
| QH501-531 | Life |
| QH540-549.5 | Ecology |
| QH705-705.5 | Economic biology |
| QK | Botany |
| QL | Zoology |
| S | Agriculture |
| SB | Plant Culture |
| SD | Forestry |
| SF | Animal Culture |
| SH | Aquaculture |
| TA 703-712 | Engineering Geology, Soil Mechanics |
| TC 401-948 | Water Engineering including flood control, dams, irrigation, etc. |
| TD | Environmental Technology |
OhioLINK
Don't forget that in addition to all of the books available in the University of Toledo Libraries locations, you also have access to books from any of the more than 85 OhioLINK partner libraries. Whenever you are in the University of Toledo Library Catalog, you can click on the OhioLINK button to perform the same search in libraries across the state. Or you can start your search in the OhioLINK Catalog itself. See here for more information about requesting and borrowing items from OhioLINK libraries.
![]()
OhioLINK Catalog Search
Standard Reference Sources
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) QL3 .G7813 2003 (17 Volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0787653624
Multivolume set on animals of all sorts.
Beacham's guide to international endangered species
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) QL82 .B435 1998 (3 Volumes)
ISBN/ISSN: 0933833342Five kingdoms : an illustrated guide to the phyla of life on earth
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) QH83 .M36 1998
Hey's mineral index : mineral species, varieties, and synonyms
Call Number: CARLSON Reference (1st fl) QE357 .C53 1993
ISBN/ISSN: 0412399504
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait