LibGuides: Library Access for Volunteer Faculty : Books/Handbooks

Finding Books

Usually, books are used to find background information (like in a textbook) or reference information (like in a drug handbook). There are a number of ways to identify books on a topic, by an author, etc. Need help finding books? Contact Mulford Reference Assistance for help.

University Libraries catalog
Our catalog will tell you which books we have here at UToledo (both online and print titles). This is the best place to start when looking for books.

OhioLINK Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you can't fins what you need in our catalog, you're next step is to check OhioLINK. From within OhioLINK, you can request to have a copy of a book sent here to Mulford or to another OhioLINK library that may be closer to where you are.

ILLiad (for Interlibrary loan)
If you can't obtain the book from UToledo or OhioLINK, complete the book request form in ILLiad. We will attempt to borrow a copy of the book for you from another library. When the book has arrived, you will receive an email letting you know you can pick it up at the Library.

Online Books, Handbooks, and Knowledgebases

When you access these or other online resources from off of the University of Toledo Health Science Campus, you will be prompted for your name and your ID number. For OhioLINK resources, you'll be prompted for your institution (University of Toledo) first.

Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Online resource designed for pharmacy students, educators and practitioners. Contains full text of over 30+ McGraw-Hill textbooks, as well as multimedia files, case studies, care plans, self-assessment tools, exam review questions, drug monographs, and feature articles on evidence-based practice.
Resources include textbooks, Rx Drug monographs, and calculators.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care, clinical information service for medical students, physicians, surgeons, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of six databases in medicine and healthcare that contain different types of independent evidence to inform clinical decision-making.

eMedicine
Requires free registration. The Clinical Knowledge Base contains articles on over 6,500 diseases and medical topics, and is illustrated with 28,000 multimedia files
Merck Manuals
Includes Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy and the Merck Manual of Geriatrics

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of thousands of scholarly books, reference books, and American and English literary works purchased by OhioLINK from numerous publishers.

EBSCO eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Assorted online medical and nonmedical books
R2 Digital Library Books
Assorted medical, nursing, and allied health books