Citation Guide: How to cite ENCYCLOPEDIAS

APA Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry Citation

• Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced.
• Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented.

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of entry or article. Name of reference source (vol. number, pp. pages). Publisher.

Examples:
Home. (1989). In Oxford English dictionary (Vol. 8, p. 324). New York: Oxford University Press.

Ring, A. A. (1997). Real estate. In Encyclopedia Americana (Vol. 16, pp. 213-214). Danbury, CT: Grolier.

The art of architecture. (2002). In Encyclopædia Britannica: Macropædia (Vol. 1, pp. 243-261). Chicago: Encyclopædia Brittanica.

APA Online Encyclopedia Entry

• Examples are not double-spaced, but your References list should be double-spaced.
• Examples do not show indented lines after the first line, but yours should be indented.

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. DOI or URL

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Middle Initial. Title of entry or article. In Name of reference source. Retrieved from name of database.

Example:
Guttentag, J. Demand clause. In Mortgage encyclopedia. doi.org/10.1036/0071458492

Concrete. In Funk & Wagnall's new world encyclopedia. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Photonics. In The Columbia Encyclopedia (6th ed.). www.encyclopedia.com/doc/1E1-photonics.html