Skip to main content

HED 5910/5960/5970 Diversity Certificate: Course Readings

Resources to support the diversity online certificate courses HED 5910/5960/5970

All Readings

References for Course:

  • Abrams, L.S., & Moio, J.A. (2009). Critical race theory and the cultural competence dilemma in social work education. Journal of Social Work Education. 46(2), 245-261. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Allen, J. O. (2015). Ageism as a risk factor for chronic disease. Gerontologist. doi: 10.1093/geront/gnu158 [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Bern, S. (1981). Gender Schema Theory: A Cognitive Account of Sex Typing. Pychological Reviev. 88(4), 354-364. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Bucher, R.D. (2010). Diversity consciousness: opening our minds to people, cultures, and opportunities. (3rd Edition). Prentice Hall: Upper Saddle, N.J. http://olc1.ohiolink.edu:80/record=b27281994~S0*eng
  • Cass, V. (1984). Homosexual identity formation: Testing a theoretical model. Journal of Sex Research, 20(2,), 143-167. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Connolly, C. (2002, March 21). Report says minorities get lower-quality health care. Washington Post, p. A02. Retrieved from http://www.healthpronet.org/prog_resources/news_041502a.html
  • D’Augell, A. R. (1994). Identity development and sexual orientation: Toward a model of lesbian, gay, and bisexual development. In E. J. Trickett, R. J. Watts, & D. Birman (Eds.), Human diversity: Perspectives on people in context (pp. 312-333). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
    http://olc1.ohiolink.edu:80/record=b14038667~S0*eng
  • Deering, A., Dilts, R., & Russell, J. (2003). Leadership cults and cultures. Leader to Leader, 2003(28), 31-38. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Gregor, S. (October 2004). Fighting back: Workplace bullying in Australia. InPsyc. Retrieved from http://www.psychology.org.au/publications/inpsych/workplace_bullying/
  • Harrington, Melanie. (2009). Tackling generational diversity. Profiles in Diversity Journal, 11(2), 64-60. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Harvard University. Encountering religious diversity: From diversity to pluralism. The Pluralism Project. Retrieved from http://pluralism.org/encounter/challenges.
  • Harvard University. Encountering religious diversity: We the people…. The Pluralism Project. Retrieved from http://pluralism.org/we-the-people.
  • Hetherington, M. & Parke, R. (2003). Chapter 15: Gender Roles and Gender Differences. Child Psychology: A Contemporary Viewpoint. Mcgraw-Hill. Retrieved from http://highered.mheducation.com/sites/0072820144/student_view0/chapter15/index.html
  • Jirwe, M., Gerrish, K., & Emami, A. (2006). The theoretical framework of cultural competence. Journal of Multicultural Nursing & Health (JMCNH), 12(3), 6-16. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • King, Jr., T., Dickinson, T., DuBose, Jr., T., Flack, J., Hellmann, D., Pamies, R.,...E., & Wesson, D. (2004). The case for diversity in academic internal medicine. American Journal of Medicine, 116, 284-289. doi:10.1016/j.amjmed.2003.12.015 [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Lederer, E. (2015, Mar 4). Jane Fonda says male domination of world has been 'wounded'. AP News. Retrieved from http://m.apnews.com/ap/db_268765/contentdetail.htm?contentguid=Kw4a9l8h
  • Levinson, W., Roter, D., Mullooly, J., Dull, V., & Frankel, R. (1997). Physician-patient communication: The relationship with malpractice claims among primary care physicians and surgeons. JAMA, 277(7), 553-9. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Looney, D. Scott. (2006). A space at the table. Independent School, 65(2), 38-47. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Lutgen-Sandvik, P.; Namie, G. & Namie, R. (2009). Workplace Bullying: Causes, Consequences, and Corrections. In P. Lutgen-Sandvik & B.D. Sypher (Eds.), Destructive organizational communication: Destructive Organizational Communication: Processes, consequences, and constructive ways of organizing (pp. 41-88). New York: Routledge Press. [Note: See "web Resources" for correct link to cited report]
  • Merriam, S. B., & Kee, Y. (2014). Promoting community wellbeing: The case for lifelong learning for older adults. Adult Education Quarterly, 64(2), 128-144. doi: 10.1177/0741713613513633 [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Nelson, A. (2002). Unequal treatment: confronting racial and ethnic disparities in health care. Journal of The National Medical Association, 94(8), 666-668. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Perna, L. (2001). Sex and race differences in faculty tenure and promotion. Research in Higher Education, 42(5), 541-567. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Popple, P. R. & Leighninger, L. (2011). Social work, social welfare and American society. Boston: Pearson Education. http://utmost.cl.utoledo.edu/record=b3054774
  • Robins, L., Fantone, J., Hermann, J., Alexander, G. & Zweifler, A. (1998). Improving cultural awareness and sensitivity training in medical school. Academic Medicine, 73(10/October Suppl.), 531-534. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Sherry, M., Thomas, P. & Chui, W. (2010). International students: a vulnerable student population. Higher Education, 60(1), 33–46.
    DOI 10.1007/s10734-009-9284-z [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Sue, D.W., Capodilupo, C.M., Torino, G.C., Bucceri, J.M., Holder, A.M.B., Nadal, K.L., & Esquilin, M. (2007). Racial microaggressions in everyday life. American Psychologist, 62(4), 271-286. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Sullivan Commission on Diversity in the Healthcare Workforce. (2000). Missing persons: minorities in the health professions. Retrieved from https://depts.washington.edu/ccph/pdf_files/Sullivan_Report_ES.pdf
  • Thompson, C. & Carter, R. (2012). Racial Identity Theory: Applications to individual, group, and organizational interventions. New York: Routledge. http://utmost.cl.utoledo.edu/record=b2038665
  • Thompson, A. & Cuseo, J.B. (2009). Diversity and the college experience. Dubuque, IA: Kendall Hunt Publishing.
  • Wage Project Web site. Retrieved October 17, 2013, from www.wageproject.org/index.php
  • Welch, M., Price, E. & Yankey, N.(2004).Youth violence and race in the media: the emergence of "wilding" as an invention of the press. Race, Gender & Class, 11(2), 36-48. [Search "Gore" in course reserves for full text]
  • Wringe, C. (2006). Chapter 16: and global citizenship? In Moral education: Beyond the teaching of right and wrong. (pp. 152-158). The Netherlands: Springer. Available from http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/ebc/1402037090

UT Library Reserves Search

Search in this box for required readings for this course:

Online Books

Web Resources