This is the "Evaluating Info" page of the "Evaluating Information / Defining Your Information Need" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evaluating Information / Defining Your Information Need   Tags: getting started, research  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.utoledo.edu/evalinfo Print Guide RSS Updates
Evaluating Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

With the many sources of information we have available to us, we often find ourselves with too much information!  We need some way to sort through it all.  We need to know what sort of questions to ask to determine whether the information available will adequately answer our questions.  At each stage of your research, different questions need to be asked.  Some guidelines are given here.

More information about Evaluating Internet Sources

It is important to remember that anyone can put up a web page, and there is no 'quality control' or editor for what you find on the Internet.  Therefore, you must be ready to make your own evaluation of web sites, especially if you are going to be using them for research purposes.  You will want to find out as much as you can about the authority, currency, relevance, and accuracy of the web sites you use.  These checklists and other resources will help you ask the right questions.

  • Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources
    The World Wide Web has a lot to offer, but not all sources are equally valuable or reliable. Here are some points to consider. (UCLA Library)
  • Thinking Critically about Web 2.0 and Beyond
    Social networking sites, blogs, wikis, virtual worlds, mashups, and filesharing sites of all kinds, etc. offer many opportunities for collaboration, global community, personal connection, creativity and enterprise, but not all sources are equally valuable or reliable. Here are some points to consider when entering or using these and other tools and environments yet to come. (UCLA Library)
  • Evaluating Information Found on the Internet
    This guide discusses the criteria by which scholars in most fields evaluate print information, and shows how the same criteria can be used to assess information found on the Internet. (Johns Hopkins Library)
  • Evaluating Web Content
    This guide offers tips for evaluating the quality of content on the Web. Scroll to the bottom for specific sources. (University at Albany (SUNY) Library)
  • Evaluate Web Pages
    Tutorial and exercise/worksheet (Widener University Libraries)
  • Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
    Evaluating web pages skillfully requires you to do two things at once:
    1. Train your eye and your fingers to employ a series of techniques that help you quickly find what you need to know about web pages;
    2. Train your mind to think critically, even suspiciously, by asking a series of questions that will help you decide how much a web page is to be trusted.
  • Evaluating Web Sites
    Tutorial from Ohio State University Libraries.
  • Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test (PDF)  
      
    How to evaluate Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.
 

Defining Your Information Need

Before you start searching, it is best if you can define your information need.  If you know what you're looking for, you'll be better able to recognize it when you've found your answer.  Also, defining your information need helps you know where to start looking.

  • What information do you need?  Define your problem or interpret your assignment.
  • What information do you already have on the subject?  What facts or background information do you already know?
  • Do you want general or specific information about the subject?
  • How much information do you want?  A single fact? A paragraph? A few pages? An entire book?
  • What types of information do you want?  For example, are you looking for
    • opinions
    • statistics or data
    • case studies or specific examples
    • name of experts
    • historical information
    • analysis
  • What information sources (databases, library catalogs, encyclopedias, the Internet) will help you find the information you need?  A reference librarian can help with this part!
 

Evaluate the Source of Information

Some questions can be answered while you are looking  at your search results in a database or search engines.  Know the content of the databases, read abstracts (if available), do author searches, look at subject headings, and notice publication information (for dates, places, and publishers).  Other questions will be answered when you are looking at the publication itself or at the full-text in a database.

  • Who is the author of the information, and what qualifications to they have on this topic?  What is their relevant education, experience, occupation or other publications?
  • Who is the intended audience?  Is it for the general public, for students, for professionals or other researchers, etc.?
  • What type of source is it?  Is it scholarly, popular, commercial, governmental, or private?  Is the presentation suitable for your level of understanding of the subject (not too simple or too difficult)?
  • When was the information produced?  Is your topic one that is likely to have had significant changes since the source was published?  Do you need current information or a historical perspective?
  • Where was the information published?  Does it focus on a specific part of the world or region?
  • Why was the information published?  Does the source show political or cultural bias?
  • How is the information organized?  Are there appendixes, indexes, and/or a bibliography included? Does it have graphs, charts, glossaries, or illustrations to help explain or augment the information?
 

Evaluate the Information Content Itself

Finally, after you have read through a book, an article, or other publication, you should be able to answer questions about the type and quality of information that it gives.

  • Does the source contain the information you need?  (See Definining your Information Need)
  • Does it report primary research (e.g. experiments, observations, surveys) or is it a compilation or previous research, like a review article or meta-analysis?  Is there documentation of other works used (bibliography, footnotes, references, etc.)?
  • What is the author's thesis?  What are the main points or concepts?
  • What facts or opinions are presented?  Is more than one point of view presented?  What are the major findings or conclusions, and are they supported by the facts or arguments?
  • Do other sources support the facts and/or conclusions of this source?  Do the findings support or refute your own ideas on the topic?
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip