Skip to main content

For Faculty: How to bring the Library to your students: Widgets for Article Databases

This guide will bring together everything, from services to widgets, that a faculty member needs to bring the best research tools to their students.

Search Widgets for Article Databases

Below you will find our most popular database widgets.  Each box contains the widget itself, follwed by its code.  The code can be cut and pasted into an html file, whether in Microsoft Word, FrontPage or directly into BlackBoard.

If you have any difficulty with the boxes or would like to request widget code for your favorite database, please contact Bridget Faricy.

Academic Search Complete : Search Form

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is UT’s largest scholarly, multi-subject article database.


 <p>
<script src="http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
</p>
<form onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post">
<input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" value="1" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" value="http://0-search.ebscohost.com.carlson.utoledo.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&amp;site=ehost-live&amp;scope=site&amp;type=1&amp;db=a9h" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" value="url" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" value="+" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" />
<div style="height: 75px; width: 200px; font-family: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 9pt; font-weight: bold; color: #353535;">
<div style="padding-top:12px;padding-left:0px;">
        <span style="font-weight:bold;">Academic Search Complete</span>
<div style="padding-top:7px;">
            <span><input id="ebscohostsearchtext" name="ebscohostsearchtext" size="23" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this.form);" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" type="text" /></span>
            <span><input value="Search" onclick="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this.form);" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" type="submit" /></span>
        </div>
</div>
</div>
</form>
<p>
<font size="1">Academic Search Complete is UT&rsquo;s largest scholarly, multi-subject article database.</font></p>


Special Note for EBSCO databases:  EBSCO's provides UT with Academic Search Complete, it's largest multidiscpinary database, as well as many of our specialty databases such as CINAHL, ERIC, MLA, etc.  Search widgets can easily be created for any of these databases.  Please contact Bridget Faricy if you are interested.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) Search

Search the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center for:
in



<form action="http://0-journals.ohiolink.edu.carlson.utoledo.edu/search/search.do" method="get" id="searchForm">
<p id="main-input">Search the <a href="http://0-journals.ohiolink.edu.carlson.utoledo.edu/ejc/">OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center</a> for:<br /><input name="query" size="48" id="field1" /> in <select name="field" id="delimit1">
<option value="contents" selected="selected">Any Field</option>
<option value="abstract">Abstract</option>
<option value="title">Article Title</option>
<option value="author">Author Name</option>
<option value="keyword">Key Words</option>
<option value="journal">Journal Title</option>
<option value="issn">ISSN</option></select>
<input value="Submit Search" type="submit" id="searchform-submit" class="submit-button" /></p>
</form>

Business Source Complete : Search Form

Business Source Complete



<script src="http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<form onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post">
<input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" value="1" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" value="http://0-search.ebscohost.com.carlson.utoledo.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&site=ehost-live&scope=site&type=1&db=bth" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" value="url" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" value="+" type="hidden" />
<input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" />
<div style="height: 75px; width: 200px; font-family: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: 9pt; font-weight: bold; color: #353535;">
<div style="padding-top:12px;padding-left:0px;">
        <span style="font-weight:bold;">Business Source Complete</span>
<div style="padding-top:7px;">
            <span><input id="ebscohostsearchtext" name="ebscohostsearchtext" size="23" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this.form);" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" type="text" /></span>
            <span><input value="Search" onclick="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this.form);" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" type="submit" /></span>
        </div>
</div>
</div>
</form>

Literary Reference Center from EBSCO

Literary Reference Center from EBSCO


<script src="http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<form action="" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post">
<input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" type="hidden" value="1" />
<input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" type="hidden" value="http://0-search.ebscohost.com.carlson.utoledo.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&site=lrc-live&scope=site&type=1&db=&db=lfh" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" type="hidden" value="url" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" type="hidden" value="+" />
<input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" value="" />
<div style="background-Image:url('http://www.ebscohost.com/customerSuccess/downloads/supports/litreference150.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;height:75px;width:392px;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;font-weight:bold;color:#353535;">
    <div style="padding-top:5px;padding-left:167px;">
        <span style="font-weight:bold;">Literary Reference Center from EBSCO</span>
        <div>
            <input id="ebscohostsearchtext" name="ebscohostsearchtext" type="text" size="23" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;margin-left:0px;" />
            <input type="submit" value="Search" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" />
        </div>
    </div>
</div>
</form>
</form>

Literature Resource Center Search


<p><iframe scrolling="no" marginwidth="0" frameborder="0" src="http://access.gale.com/cgi-bin/widgets/v2/reader.pl?id=6827__ohlnk130&amp;dir=litrcx&amp;prod=LitRC&amp;image=&amp;h=85&amp;w=180&amp;t=&amp;ts=&amp;tf=Tahoma&amp;tc=&amp;bc=fff&amp;pub=" marginheight="0" style="width: 180px; height: 85px;"></iframe></p>

ISI Citation Indexes Search

ISI Web of Knowledge Quick Search
(Use full version for most complete results.)
 

Enter a topic to search
    

Copyright 2009 Thomson Reuters   

 


<form action="http://0-gateway.isiknowledge.com.carlson.utoledo.edu/gateway/Gateway.cgi" method="get" target="_blank">
<table style="background-color: #fff; border: 1px solid #999; width: 354px;" border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td><font size="2"><b>ISI Web of Knowledge Quick Search</b></font><br /><font size="1">(Use <a href="http://0-rave.ohiolink.edu.carlson.utoledo.edu/databases/wok">full version</a> for most complete results.)</font>
<br>&nbsp;</br>
<p><strong><font face="Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif"><font size="2" color="#808080">Enter a topic to search</font></font></strong><br /><input name="GWVersion" value="2" type="hidden" /> <input name="SrcApp" value="SFX" type="hidden" /> <input name="SrcAuth" value="HSB" type="hidden" /> <input name="DestApp" value="UA" type="hidden" /> <input name="ServiceName" value="TransferToWoS" type="hidden" /> <input name="DestLinkType" value="GeneralSearchSummary" type="hidden" /> <input name="Func" value="Links" type="hidden" /> &nbsp;<input name="topic" size="27" maxlength="255" />&nbsp; <input name="btnWS" value="Search" type="submit" />&nbsp; <input name="btnR" value="Reset" type="reset" /></p>
<p align="right"><font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><font size="1">Copyright 2009 <a target="_blank" href="http://thomsonreuters.com">Thomson Reuters</a>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</font></font></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<hr />

What is a widget? And why should I use them?

A widget is a small piece of html code that places a dynamic element into your webpage from another source.  Here the widgets are exclusively search boxes for library materials.  Other types of widgets include clocks, stock tickers and weather forecasts.

Our search widgets allow you to place reliable search engines right where your students are.  For example, your assignment sheet, if you use Word's HTML option, could have widgets. 

Widgets we can't do...

Search widgets could not be created for:

  • OSearch Databases
  • Engineering Village
  • AccessMedicine, AccessPharmacy, etc.
  • AP Images
  • Factiva
  • LexisNexis Academic
  • CSA Databases