Introduction to the Internet
This is a great place to begin if you are new to the Internet or if you need a refresher. What is the Internet? How does it work? How can I use a browser to access information on the World Wide Web?
- Roads and Crossroads of Internet History a fun overview from internetvalley.com
- Glossary of Internet Terms from Matisse Enzer
- The Psychology of Cyberspace from John Suler from the Psychology Department at Rider University
- Zen and the Art of the Internet - This classic work from 1992 has been updated
Overview of Electronic Communication
The Internet has been compared to a flea market: a lot of junk, a few cool things, and some real treasures. The problem is finding the worthwhile information while minimizing the amount of time spent sifting through the junk. The key tools in this process are Web directories, search engines, and metasearch tools.
Overview
- Electronic Communication [PDF]
Electronic Mail
- Beginner's Guide to Effective Email - from K. D. Sherwood
- Email for beginners - from About.com
- Free Web-based email - from About.com
Mailing Lists
- Using Mailing Lists [PDF]
- The Natural Life Cycle of Mailing Lists - from K. Nagel
Discussion Groups
- Using Usenet Newsgroups [PDF]
- Usenet Archive - from Google Groups, including access to twenty years of Usenet messages
Instant Messaging
- Instant Messaging for Beginners - from About.com
Online Chat
- Chat for Beginners - from About.com
- You can get help from the Mulford Library via chat/IM.
Blogging (Web logging)
- Web Logs Basics - Background, History & Definitions of Blogs - from About.com
- Blogging for Beginners - from About.com
- Blogging 101 - by Anton Zuiker
Jargon, Emoticons, Acronyms, and Abbreviations
- Electronic Communication [PDF]
- Text Messaging Abbreviations - from Webopedia
- Chat and Text Messaging Abbreviations - from TechDictionary
- Newbie's Guide to Email List Terminology - from List-Lingo.com
- Emoticon list - from windweaver.com
Netiquette
- Electronic Communication [PDF]
- Virginia Shea's Netiquette from the publisher's Web site
Web 2.0
Web Evaluation
Now that you found the information you wanted, how do you know if it is any good?
- net.TUTOR: Evaluation of Web Sites - from Ohio State University
- Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test (Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose)(PDF)
Searching the Net
The Internet has been compared to a flea market: a lot of junk, a few cool things, and some real treasures. The problem is finding the worthwhile information while minimizing the amount of time spent sifting through the junk. The key tools in this process are Web directories, search engines, and metasearch tools.
Overview
- Bare Bones 101: A Basic Tutorial for Searching the Web - from the University of South Carolina
- Searching the Web - from About.com
Directories - General
The key features of web directories are that (1) sites are organized into categories, so they are easy to browse, and (2) human beings look at the sites to determine if they are good and to decide the categories to place them. The sites listed below are general directories: they include sites on all kinds of topics.
- About.com - directory of links for browsing and searching, combined with original content
- Librarians' Index to the Internet - directory of links for browsing and searching
- Open Directory Project - directory of links for browsing and searching
- Yahoo! - directory of links for browsing and searching
- InfoMine
- E-Ref [Electronic Reference] Directories - Health Science
- Internet Public Library
- LibrarySpot
- Intute (unfunded and unsupported after July 2011)
These directories include sites that are strictly for health, medicine, biomedical research and education, health care, and wellness. Don't look for sports scores with these tools, but they are incredibly useful when looking for health information.
- Hardin MD - directory of medical directories; from the University of Iowa
- MEDLINEplus - for consumers and patients; from the National Library of Medicine
Search Engines
Search engines are maintained by computer programs, with minimal human intervention. Search engines search a wider range of web sites than directories, but there are fewer quality-control mechanisms.
- Altavista
- Yahoo! Search
- Google - includes a directory and access to Usenet
- Lycos
- Collecta (Searches the net for recent blog posts, news stories, tweets and comments)
- Blinkx (video searching)
- Kosmix (Social media searching)
MetaSearch Tools
Metasearch tools search the other search tools...one-stop-searching the web.
More Information about Search Tools and How They Work
- Search Engine Show-Down - information on search engine features, technical analyses, search strategies, reviews, and more
- Search Engine Watch - information for web searchers and web designers about how search engines work

Loading...
