Raises the awareness and enlisst public aid for the needs of severely injured service men and women, helps severely injured service members aid and assist each other, and provides unique, direct programs and services to meet needs.
A confidential Department of Defense-funded program providing comprehensive information on every aspect of military life at no cost to active duty, National Guard, and reserve members, and their families.
Information includes, but is not limited to, deployment, reunion, relationships, grief, spouse employment and education, parenting and childhood services. It is a virtual extension to installation services.
Confidential call center and online support for consultations on a number of issues such as spouse education and career opportunities, issues specific to families with a member with special needs, health coaching, financial support, and resources.
Confidential services are available 24 hours a day by telephone and online.
Veterans Matter raises money and works directly with HUD and the VA to ensure funds go straight to the landlords for the vets in need. We seamlessly integrate local communities, foundations, corporations, and veterans groups with the VA and HUD to move local chronically homeless veterans off the streets and into permanent, supported housing. Once housed, services are lined up to help veterans and their families recapture their lives and return to domestic autonomy.
The VITAL program brings together the full spectrum of VA services into a single access point on campus.
7 schools, including UT and BG
Students interested in learning more about VITAL can contact Powers at (734) 548-3452 or firstname.lastname@example.org. She is available by appointment at UT and has regular Tuesday office hours at BGSU’s office of Nontraditional and Transfer Student Services.
Provides educational and degree completion opportunities and a wide range of customized support services including but not limited to: educational benefit processing, mentoring, advocacy and networking while partnering with veteran service organizations who assist with the transition from military service to the classroom and beyond.
Dedicated to enhancing the quality of life for amputees and their families, improving patient care and preventing limb loss. Help amputees live well with limb loss, raise awareness about limb loss prevention and ensure amputees have a voice in matters affecting their ability to live full, thriving lives.
The membership is comprised of individual amputees, amputee education and support groups for amputees, professionals, family members and friends of amputees, amputation or limb loss related agencies and organizations.
Founded in 1919 by a group of amputee veterans who suffered the loss of limb or limbs in the service during World War I. Helps both veteran and civilian amputees. The foundation sponsors an Amp-to Amp program, which provides visits whenever feasible, by an amputee member of their organization, who has returned to a normal life. Includes list of support groups for every state and offer booklets and pamphlets of special interest to the amputee.
Dedicated to enhancing the quality of life of all people living with spinal cord injuries and disorders (SCI/D), including veterans, and providing support and information to loved ones, care providers and professionals.
Links to community support groups and chapters, webinars. free publications, and more.
Addresses the health care needs of eligible women veterans, providing appropriate, timely, and compassionate health care.
Comprehensive medical services include health promotion and disease prevention, primary care, women’s gender-specific health care (e.g., hormone replacement therapy, breast and gynecological care, maternity and limited infertility), acute medical/surgical treatment, telephone, emergency and substance abuse treatment, mental health, domiciliary, rehabilitation and long term care.
VA researchers at many VA facilities also conduct medical research on women’s health.
Assists eligible veterans in their efforts to receive benefits and services from the Veterans Administration. The Center acts only as a mediator and facilitator; it does not process claims, handle equal employment complaints, or deal with employee relation problems.
Provides strategic advocacy on behalf of its membership with Congress, the Federal Administration, State Administrations and other agencies and organizations.
Provides personal advocacy on behalf of veterans seeking claims against the United States Department of Veterans Affairs; advocacy for youth in all matters required for successful passage into adulthood; advocacy on behalf of families; with community involvement, provide advocacy in creating positive lifestyles for veterans; and to generate and preserve the historical record.
A non-partisan legal services and watchdog and policy organization dedicated to bringing about full LGBT equality to America’s military and ending all forms of discrimination and harassment of military personnel on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity.
SLDN provides free and direct legal assistance to service members and veterans affected by the repealed “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” law and the prior regulatory ban on open service, as well as those currently serving who may experience harassment or discrimination.