Skip to main content

Off-Campus Use of Library Resources: Home

Information about using subscription electronic resources from off-campus.

Introduction

The University Libraries provide access to thousands of electronic resources, virtually all of which are available to our current students, faculty, and staff from anywhere. This guide will help you best connect to those resources, and troubleshoot common problems.  Our database licenses and subscriptions for our electronic resources do not allow us to provide or sell access to unaffiliated users (i.e., not current faculty, staff, or students).

Online Circulation & Borrowing Services

You can use your Library Record  to

Use our ILLiad Service to

  • Place a request for articles not available online or books not available through OhioLINK
  • Check the status of Interlibrary Loan requests
  • Retrieve scanned copies of ordered articles, book chapters, etc.

See our LibGuide for more information about Borrowing.

Connecting from Off-Campus

You can connect to most of our electronic databases, books, journals, and other resources from off-campus if you use links from the University Libraries' web sites, rather than trying to connect directly at the publisher or provider's web site.  You can find these links in:

  • Our Library Catalog for e-books, e-journals, and electronic databases
    (Click on a title in your search results and look for the Connect to: link to access.)
  • Our Online Journals List for e-journals
  • The Research Database listings for other databases

    When you use these links from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in either by the University of Toledo Libraries or by OhioLINK.  In either case, you will need to enter
  • Your full name (not your username or e-mail address, so Jane Doe, not jdoe3 or jane.doe@rockets.utoledo.edu)
  • Your Rocket Number, including the R at the beginning and any zero's after the R:  R00123456

If you are logging in through OhioLINK, you will also be asked to first select your Institution (University of Toledo) and campus.  If you have problems logging in through OhioLINK, please see their OhioLINK Remote Authentication Help for common problems and how to solve them.

Courtesy Card Holders (including Alumni)

Our database licenses and subscriptions for our electronic resources do not allow us to provide or sell access to unaffiliated users (i.e., not current faculty, staff, or students).  Therefore, courtesy card holders, including members of the Alumni Association, may not use our databases and subscriptions remotely, but must use them in the library.

See our Borrowing LibGuide for more information about what services are available to Courtesy Card holders.

What is my Rocket Number?

Your Rocket Number is a 8 digit number with an 'R' at the beginning that is used as your student identifier at the University of Toledo.  It is not printed on your Rocket ID Card.

If you have forgotten your Rocket Number, you can find it by:

  • Logging in to the myUT portal and clicking on Student Detail Schedule in the Tool Kit in the Student tab.  The Rocket Number will be in the upper right corner.
  • Logging in to the UTAD Account Management Site with your UTAD user name and password.  Your Rocket ID # will be displayed on the left hand column.

Additional Help

If none of the tips on this page have helped and you still have trouble connecting to a resource from off-campus, try one of the following options:

  • If you get messages that indicate that your 'record is not valid' or that there is a 'problem with your record,' please call the Carlson Library Circulation Desk at 419-530-2323.
  • Send an email to askit@utnet.utoledo.edu describing your problem in detail.  Please indicate the name of the database you are trying to access, the browser you're using and its version, any error message that you receive, and your internet service provider.
  • Use the Ask A Librarian LibGuide to connect with a librarian.