Skip to Main Content

Physician Assistant Studies

Resources of interest to physician assistant students for didactic courses, clinical rotations, and scholarly projects. Resources for general academic and life success are included.

Culturally-Competent Health Care

See also our Health Equity LibGuide

Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by Purnell; Fenkl
Publication Date: 2019
Available online in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center and in the SpringerLink E-Book Collection. **SpringerLink recommended**
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Spector
Publication Date: 2013
Available in Mulford Browsing Collection WA30 S741c 2013
Transcultural Health Care: A Culturally Competent Approach by Paulanka; Purnell
Publication Date: 2008
Available in Mulford Closed Collection W84 DA2 T7 2008. Ask for title at the 4th floor Circ Desk.

A Prescription for Cultural Competence in Medical Education
J Gen Intern Med. Oct 2006; 21(10): 1116–1120. Available free via PubMedCentral
Think Cultural Health: A Physician's Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care
The National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services in Health and Health Care (the National CLAS Standards)
National Center for Cultural Competence
From Georgetown University
Integrating Health Literacy, Cultural Competence, and Language Access Services
2016. PDF may be downloaded for free (see link to the right).

Health Literacy

Health literacy and child health outcomes: Promoting effective health communication strategies to improve quality of care by Connelly; Turner
Publication Date: 2017
Available online in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center and in the SpringerLink E-Book Collection. **SpringerLink recommended**

Building the Case for Health Literacy
2018 workshop proceedings published by the National Academies Press. PDF may be downloaded for free (see link to the right).
How Can Health Care Organizations Become More Health Literate?
2012 workshop summary published by the National Academies Press. PDF may be downloaded for free (see link to the right).
Organizational Change to Improve Health Literacy
2013 workshop summary published by the National Academies Press. PDF may be downloaded for free (see link to the right).
Integrating Health Literacy, Cultural Competence, and Language Access Services
2016. PDF may be downloaded for free (see link to the right).
Health Literacy in Primary Care Practice
Health Literacy Universal Precautions Toolkit

Patient Safety

Patient Safety Ethics: How Vigilance, Mindfulness, Compliance, and Humility Can Make Healthcare Safer by Banja
Publication Date: 2019
Available online in Project Muse
Organizing Patient Safety: Failsafe Fantasies and Pragmatic Practices by Pedersen
Publication Date: 2018
Available online in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center and in the SpringerLink E-Book Collection. **SpringerLink recommended**

Patient Safety Measure Tools & Resources
Institute for Healthcare Improvement: Patient Safety
To Err Is Human: Building a Safer Health System
A classic document in patient safety. 2000. PDF can be downloaded for free
Preventing Medication Errors
2007. PDF can be downloaded for free
Improving Diagnosis in Health Care
2015. PDF can be downloaded for free

Disaster Medicine

Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide by Raby et al.
Publication Date: 2015
Available online in ClinicalKey
Disaster Psychiatry: Readiness, Evaluation, and Treatment by Stoddard; Pandya; Katz
Publication Date: 2011
Available in Mulford Browsing Collection (fourth floor) WM172 D611 2011
Medical Response to Major Incidents and Disasters: A Practical Guide for All Medical Staff by Lennquist
Publication Date: 2012
Available online in the SpringerLink E-Book Collection
Disaster Bioethics: Normative Issues When Nothing is Normal by O'Mathúna et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2014
Available online in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center and in the SpringerLink E-Book Collection. **SpringerLink recommended**

Travel Medicine

Essential Travel Medicine by Zuckerman; Brunette; Leggat
Publication Date: 2015
Available online in the Wiley Online Library
Travel Medicine by Keystone; et al.
Publication Date: 2019
Available online in ClinicalKey
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases by Ryan; et al.
Publication Date: 2020
Available online In ClinicalKey
Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine by Auerbach; Cushing; Harris
Publication Date: 2017
Available online in ClinicalKey