LibGuides: Renewable Energy: Home

Databases

Energy Citations Database (ECD)
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates.
DOE Energy Innovation Portal
The U.S. Department of Energy's Energy Innovation Portal now has more than 300 business-friendly marketing summaries available to help investors and companies identify and license leading-edge energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies. The Portal is an online tool that links available DOE innovations to the entrepreneurs who can successfully license and commercialize them.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to worldwide literature on the biology, ecology, and human impact on the environment
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching and browsing about 700 handbooks and manuals on engineering, science and technology from various publishers. Library subscribes to the following collections: Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, General Engineering & Project Administration, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Nanotechnology, Promotional Titles ( Non-subscribed titles may show up in search results. Full text available for subscribed titles only. ).

The National Academies presents: What You Need to Know About Energy
As debates about energy grow more intense, Americans need dependable, objective, and authoritative energy information. The National Academies, advisers to the nation on science, engineering, and medicine, provide facts about energy.
Morgan & Claypool Synthesis
Synthesis is an information service for the research, development, and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with digital delivery to create a product that is substantially more useful than traditional print or digital publications. The basic component of the library is a short (typically 75 to 125 pages) electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Other Reports of Note

Monthly Energy Review
The Monthly Energy Review (MER) is the U.S. Energy Information Administration’s primary report of recent energy statistics. Included are total energy production, consumption, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international petroleum; carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions.
Ohio Energy Profile | Energy Data, Information, and Maps
Comprehensive profile of Ohio's energy generation capacity and consumption from all forms of energy. From the Energy Information Administration.

Search Google Scholar

ScienceDaily Newsfeed

Recommended Reference Books

Encyclopedia of renewable energy by James G. Speight
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2022
Energy transformation towards sustainability by Manuela Tvaronavičienė, Beata Ślusarczyk
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of energy transitions by Muhammad Asif
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2022
Alternative energy resources : the way to a sustainable modern society by Pankaj Pathak, Rajiv Ranjan Srivastava
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2021
Green energy harvesting : materials for hydrogen generation and carbon dioxide reduction by Pooja Devi
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2022
Affordable and clean energy by Walter Leal Filho, Anabela Marisa Azul, Luciana Brandli, Pinar Gökcin Özuyar, Tony Wall
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2021
Renewable energy : a first course by Robert Ehrlich, Harold A. Geller, John R. Cressman
Call Number: CARLSON New Book Shelf (1st fl) TJ808 .E34 2023
Publication Date: 2023

Finding Technical Reports

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
science.gov
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Translating Science.gov
Users interested in translating Science.gov content, or accessing scientific and technical information content sources from around the world (translated in various languages), have options available here.
WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

New articles from UToledo Researchers

Recent articles published by UToledo Faculty in the GreenFILE database

Sources of Patent & Trademark Information

US Patent & Trademark Office Homepage
The USPTO mission is to ensure that the intellectual property system contributes to a strong global economy, encourages investment in innovation, and fosters entrepreneurial spirit.

For additional information on patent searching see http://libguides.utoledo.edu/Patents

Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
How to View Patent Full-Page Images From USPTO
Click the link above to find helpful How To's and Guides to find patents. PTO's full-page images, nearly four terabytes overall, are stored and delivered at full 300 dots per inch (d.p.i.) resolution in an image file format called "TIFF," using CCITT Group 4 compression. This is the format that is required by the international standards to which all patent offices must conform. TIFF is also the most used lossless image format in the world.
USPTO - Patent Statistics Reports
Provides links to listings of Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) reports that are available for viewing.
USPTO Classification Homepage
The Office of Patent Classification maintains the U.S. Patent Classification system.
European Patent Office
A collection open to the world. The EPO holds one of the largest digital repositories of public knowledge in the world.
Japan Patent Office
Official site of the Japan Patent Office.
Japanese, Chinese, or Korean Patent Help
This virtual help desk provides answers to the most frequently asked questions on patents and patent information in China, India, Japan, and Korea. You can also find background information on filing trends and granting procedures and some guidance on common patent terminology of Asian patents.
Google Patents
Search over 7 million patents.
HathiTrust
A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions.
Lens.org
The Lens at its core is an aggregator of metadata, combining three unique content sets and one management tool as a base offering. This base supports the four primary functions of the Lens, which are to discover, analyse, manage and share knowledge.
FreePatentsOnline
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest, and easiest patent search engines on the web.
pat2pdf.org
Download U.S. patents (in PDF) and more!