Skip to main content

Library Workshops

This series of workshops will help you become a better searcher and information user. Designed to be practical skill-building lessons that will improve your scholarship and research habits.

Fall Workshops

Fall is here and it is time to renew and brush up your research skills! Do you have a major project or presentation approaching? Is your fall research goal a published paper? Graduating soon and on the career path? The Library is your one stop shop.

Learn how to become a power searcher, maximize the library resources available to you, become a master of your discipline’s research databases, and learn how to efficiently and effectively navigate all of the job resources available in order to succeed in taking your next step. Information is power and your UT librarians are here to assist you--whether you are an undergraduate student, graduate student, or faculty member--in your research success.

See our workshop calendar for a full schedule!

Student Textbook Options

Student Textbook Options

Date & Time:
Tuesday, November 15, 1-2 p.m.
Thursday, November 17, 3-4 p.m.
 
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025
Discover the ways in which the University Libraries can help you locate required textbooks. Discover alternatives and supplementary materials to augment your textbook and learning needs.

What you'll learn:
  • Understand what University Libraries can provide (books, e-texts, reserves, test preps, media)
  • Understand what OhioLINK can provide (requestable textbooks, multimedia)
  • Understand what the open web can provide (free and public domain resources)
  • Become aware of online sites to shop smart for textbooks 
Best for:  Undergrads  Graduate Students

Useful Links/Guides:

Library Research - Getting Started

Library Research - Getting Started

Date & Time:
Tuesday, September 27, 10 -11
Thursday, October 6, 11 - noon
Tuesday, October 11, noon - 1
Monday, October 17, 1 - 2
Wednesday, October 19, 1 - 2
Thursday, October 27, 11 - noon
Monday, October 31, 11 - noon
Wednesday, November 2, 10 - 11
Monday, November 7, 11 - noon
Thursday, November 17, 11 - noon
 
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025
Working on a project or major paper? Do you feel overwhelmed thinking about research? Equip yourself with the essential tools and resources necessary to tackle any assignment and feel confident knowing where to search.

What you'll learn:
  • Define a specific information need
  • Identify a single subject database or use UTMOST
  • Construct a search strategy that incorporates Boolean operators and synonyms
  • Distinguish between popular and academic/scholarly sources
Best for:  Undergraduates  

Useful Links/Guides:

Database Essentials

Database Essentials

Date & Time:
Thursday, October 13, 1 -2
Tuesday, October 25, noon - 1
Wednesday, November 9, 3 - 4
Tuesday, November 15, 2 - 3
 
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025
Become a power searcher and get the most out of your database. Learn the benefits of searching using a controlled vocabulary, creating a personal account, customizing folders to organize your research, and setting up search alerts. 

What you'll learn:
  • Access thesaurus in the EBSCO interface
  • Create a targeted search using subject terms
  • Recognize the use of Major Concepts and the benefits of Exploding a Term
  • Construct an individual research profile that incorporates the use of folders, search histories, and alerts
Best for:  Advanced Undergrads  Graduate Students  Faculty & Staff

Useful Links/Guides:

Last-Minute Research Tips

Last-Minute Research Tips: Learn from a Seasoned PRO(crastinator)

Date & Time:
Friday, September 16, 11-12
Tuesday, October 11, 3-4
Tuesday, November 8, 2-3
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025

Learn to work under the pressure of tight deadlines and find resources you need for research papers due yesterday.  Develop necessary techniques to identify resources, get organized, and prepare your paper.

What you'll learn:
  • How to search the catalog and databases effectively
  • How to organize your sources with an outline
  • How to communicate with your professor
Best for:  Undergrads

EndNote Citation Management System

EndNote Citation Management 

Date & Time:
Wednesday, October 5, 4:30 - 5:30
Wednesday, October 26, 5:30 - 6:30
Monday, November 14, 5 - 6
 
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025
Learn to use the EndNote software to collect citations, attach full text, annotate and organize, and ultimately create bibliographies for research papers and manuscripts.

What you'll learn:
  • How to acquire and organize literature citations in EndNote
  • How to use EndNote to give proper credit via citing literature in your work
Best for:  Advanced Undergrads  Graduate Students Faculty

Useful Links/Guides:

Company Research for the Job Hunt

Company Research for the Job Hunt

Dates & Times:
Monday, September 26, 1 - 2
Wednesday, October 12, 10 - 11
Tuesday, November 1, 11 - noon
 
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025
Going on a job interview? Want to write a targeted cover letter? Looking for companies in a particular location or industry? Learn how to use company research databases and company websites to assist your job hunt.

What you'll learn:
  • Uses various search systems to retrieve information (ex. use two different proprietary databases and the company website to gather information on a company)
  • Examines and compares information from various sources in order to evaluate reliability, validity, accuracy, authority, timeliness and point of view or bias (ex. compare data from proprietary databases and  company website)
Best for:  Advanced Undergrads, Graduate Students 

Useful Links/Guides:

Using Government Statistics to Support Research

Using Government Statistics to Support Research​

Date & Time:
Monday, October 17, 11 - noon
Thursday, October 20, 11 - noon
 
Location: 
Carlson Library 1025
Statistics are important to scholars, researchers and analysts as they provide data that help defend arguments and authenticate research. The U.S. government is the largest producer of statistics in the world. Learn how to access and use government statistical information to support your research. 

What you'll learn:
  • Identify government resources that provide statistics in a particular subject area.
  • Search databases effectively to collect relevant information.
  • Find historical data resources.
Best for:  Advanced Undergrads  Graduate Students

Useful Links/Guides:

http://libguides.utoledo.edu/findgovdocs

Graduate Research in the Disciplines

Graduate Research in the Disciplines

Date & Time:
Arts & Humanities: Monday, October 24, 11 - noon
Sciences : Thursday, November 3, 3 - 4
Social Sciences &  Business: Tuesday, November 8, 5:30-6:30
Engineering: Thursday, November 10, 4 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Location: 
Carlson Library CL 1025
Carlson Library CL 1025
Carlson Library CL 1025
McMaster Engineering Library, Palmer 2600

Overview of library resources and services for graduate students in Science, Business, Engineering, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

What you'll learn:
  • Access the library catalog, ejournal finder, and subject research databases

  • Construct an individual research profile that incorporates the use of folders, search histories, and alert

  • Create and interlibrary loan account

Best for:  Graduate Students, Faculty

Useful Links/Guides:

Tips and Tricks With Engineering E-Books

Tips and Tricks With Engineering E-Books

Dates & Times:
Wednesday, September 28, noon - 1
Tuesday, October 18, 1  - 2
Wednesday, November 16, 11 - 12
 
Location:  
McMaster Engineering Library, Palmer 2600

Material covered Morgan & Claypool, Knovel, Access Engineering and Safari collections


What you'll learn:
  • Learn unique features of these collections
  • Learn how to export tables into Excel from Knovel and Access Engineering
  • Using mobile access with Knovel and AE
Best for:  Advanced Undergrads,  Graduate Students 

Useful Links/Guides:

Clinical Medical Apps

Clinical Medical Apps

Date & Time:
DynaMed: Tuesday, September 6, 11:30-noon
DynaMed: Thursday, September 8, 11:30-noon
Nursing Reference Center : Tuesday, September 13, 12-12:30
Nursing Reference Center : Wednesday, September 14, 3:30-4
Access Medicine: Thursday, September 22, 12:30-1
Access Medicine: Thursday, September 22, 4:30-5
Location: 
Mulford Library 502
Pinnacle Lounge
Pinnacle Lounge
Mulford Library 502
Pinnacle Lounge
Mulford Library 502

 

Overview of mobile medical apps for our subscription resources

What you'll learn:
  • How to get access to these apps

  • When it is appropriate to use apps

  • Other apps for medical information

Best for:  Graduate Students, Faculty

Useful Links/Guides:

Adding Library Resources to Blackboard Courses

Adding Library Resources to Blackboard Courses

Date & Time:
Tuesday, September 27 , 1-2
Wednesday, October 19, 10-11

Location: 
Carlson Library CL 1025

Are you teaching in Blackboard? Would you like to bring library resources into your classroom? Learn how to use UTMOST Curriculum Builder for adding library resources to Blackboard.

What you'll learn:
  • Add a live library search box to Blackboard
  • Add PDFs for full text  journal articles
  • Add ebooks
Best for:  Faculty

Useful Links/Guides: