Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 7920: Outcome Methods for Advanced Practice Nurses

This LibGuide is designed to support students in the NURS 7920 course with links to resources and information on research study design and methodology, statistical methods, and finding/evaluating outcome measurement tools.

Selected List of Relevant Databases by Subject

The following is a selected list of relevant databases for nursing research.

Explore all library databases by title or subject here

Databases What You Can Find Tutorials
Nursing/Health Sciences/Medicine
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
  • Articles in nursing, medical, and health sciences journals
  • Books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, drug records, research instruments
  • 3600+ active indexed and abstracted journals, 3100+ are peer-reviewed. 
Cochrane Library
  • Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, a gold standard resource for systematic reviews of research literature on health care and health policy
Embase
  • Comprehensive index to biomedical literature with especially strong coverage on drug trials
  • Covers over 2,700 journals and thousands of searchable conference abstracts not in MEDLINE
  • Also includes current MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE records

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is available in various search interfaces: 

  • National Library of Medicine's index to journal literature.
  • Covers a broad range of biomedical, life sciences, and health care disciplines, including articles in nursing journals
  • 5000+ indexed and abstracted journals

EBSCOhost interface

OVID interface

OVID Nursing Full-Text Plus
  • Index to nursing literature combined with a nursing subset of MEDLINE records
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium
  • Index to literature in nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and related fields
PubMed @ UT 
  • PubMed includes the MEDLINE index as well as citations to newer articles not yet indexed in versions from other vendors (such as Ovid EBSCOhost MEDLINE)
  • By accessing PubMed through the PubMed @ UT link, UToledo users can connect to full-text articles not available through the public PubMed.gov URL
Web of Science
  • Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences and social sciences
Education
Education Full-Text
  • Covers a broad range of education topics
  • Includes citations/abstracts to articles in 1,000+ journals



Education Research Complete
  • Topics covered include all levels of curriculum instruction from early childhood to higher education
  • Full text provided for over 750 journal titles
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
  • Comprehensive index to a variety of literature and resources in education
Gender Studies
Gender Studies Database
  • Index to literature on women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues

 

LGBTQ+ Source
  • Index to worldwide literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and other related topics
Women's Studies International
  • Index to literature in women's studies and feminism
Psychology
APA PsycINFO
  • Thorough coverage of all behavioral science and mental health topics
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • Covers a broad range of topics including emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, psychological and psychiatric disorders
Sociology/Social Work
SocIndex
  • Comprehensive index to scholarly literature in sociology and related fields

Sociological Collection
  • Index to scholarly journals in sociology