You can find books in the UToledo Library Catalog using either keywords for your topic, or using Subject Headings such as those listed below.
Searching by keyword allows you to find words mentioned in book titles, chapter titles, subjects, and author names. Keyword searches can be combined to find books on two or more topics using AND or OR. Searching by Subject Heading is more precise, but searches for broad topics in the book. See the UToledo Library Catalog Guide for more information about searching.
Some subject headings you may want to start at include the following. Some will have cross references to other related topics, and most will have sub-headings for more specific topics, formats, or geographic areas:
A dictionary of sociology
The Blackwell dictionary of sociology [electronic resource] : a user's guide to sociological language by 
The Penguin dictionary of sociology
The Concise Oxford dictionary of sociology by 
The HarperCollins dictionary of sociology by 
The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology by 
Encyclopedia of social theory by 
Handbook of drug abuse prevention [electronic resource] by 
Handbook of social psychology by 
Handbook of the sociology of emotions [electronic resource by 
6 steps to effective writing in sociology by 
ASA style guide / American Sociological Association by Don't forget that in addition to all of the books available in the University of Toledo Libraries locations, you also have access to books from any of the more than 85 OhioLINK partner libraries. Whenever you are in the University of Toledo Library Catalog, you can click on the OhioLINK button to perform the same search in libraries across the state. Or you can start your search in the OhioLINK Catalog itself. See here for more information about requesting and borrowing items from OhioLINK libraries.
