Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY 1010: Principles of Psychology: Databases

Library resources in support of UToledo Online courses

PsychINFO/ Academic Search Complete

PsychINFO

PsychINFO is UToledo’s largest scholarly, psychology article database.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection/ Academic Search Complete

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is one of UToledo's article resources.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Choosing the Right Databases

Databases are the most efficient way to identify articles (and sometimes other resource types as well) on a topic or by a particular author. The most important part of finding relevant articles is selecting the right database to search. (As an extreme example, searching an English literature database won't be useful if you are looking for articles on treating congestive heart failure.)

UToledo users have access to over one hundred databases.  To help you find the one you need for a particular topic, you can see them arranged by Subject Category.  Each category lists the most relevant subject databases first (alphabetically), followed by more general purpose databases.  If you know the name of a specific database, you can also see the listing by Name, or simply look up the database by title in the UToledo Library Catalog.  (Note: If you are off-campus, please log in to see the complete list of available databases, both from OhioLINK and the University of Toledo.)

If you are unsure of which database to use, a general purpose database such as Academic Search Complete may get you started.  Alternatively, you may want to use the Quick Search @ OhioLINK to search a variety of databases on one topic.  The results from the databases will be shown mixed together, or you can choose the database with the most results for further searching.

More information about finding articles in the Health Sciences is available on the Mulford Library page

More recommendations

You can also find excellent suggestions for specific databases, journal titles, and ways of finding articles in the LibGuides for individual subjects.