Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 4610: Translating Evidence for Nursing Practice: Keywords and Subject Headings

Keywords & Subject Headings: Know the Difference

Keyword searching is a good way to begin your search, especially if you are not sure of the exact terminology to use as search terms. Search results will be based on the exact keywords that you entered.  As you sift through your search results, you will begin to recognize additional terminology to use in your search strategy to locate more relevant articles.  It will also help you to identify subject headings to use in a more advanced search.

Subject heading searching is a targeted way to search for articles.  Articles in databases are indexed (or categorized) with subject heading terminology which works like a thesaurus.  If there is more than one way of describing a concept or topic (i.e. hypertension or high blood pressure), the subject heading will take all of those varieties into consideration - saving you the time of having to experiment with different keywords. For example, the subject heading for Hypertension will find articles that use the term high blood pressure. 

Performing Subject Heading Searches in EBSCOhost Databases

CINAHL and MEDLINE Databases

Database STEP 1 - To begin a subject heading search, click the corresponding link at the top of each database search screen: 
CINAHL CINAHL Subject Headings 
MEDLINE MeSH 2021 (note - MeSH is an acronym for Medical Subject Headings)

 

STEP 2 - Proceed with your search by following the instructions in the Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings video tutorial

Additional Relevant EBSCOhost Databases

Database STEP 1 - To begin a subject heading search, click the corresponding link at the top of each database search screen: 
Alt Health Watch Subjects
APA PsycINFO APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms 
Education Research Complete Thesaurus
ERIC  Thesaurus
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Subjects
LGBTQ+ Source Thesaurus
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Subjects 
SocINDEX Subject Terms
Sociological Collection Subjects
SPORTDiscus Thesaurus
  STEP 2 - Proceed with your search by following the instructions in the Browsing Subject Terms in EBSCOhost Databases video tutorial