Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Professional Skills Institute (PSI) Resources: PubMed - Biomedical Articles

What is PubMed?

PubMed is the free version of MEDLINE made available by the National Library of Medicine. It contains articles references form nearly 6,000 health science journals, including those in physical therapy, and some free full-text articles.

  • Off campus: go to http://www.pubmed.gov.
    This public URL only includes articles free to everyone. Most articles require paid subscriptions.

  • In the library: click the PubMed@UToledo link under Mulford Quick Links from the Mulford homepage.

    This option is only available to PSI students when in the library. It includes full text of many more articles than the off campus link.  However, it includes only those articles available through UToledo journal subscription

          

PubMed tutorials and detailed help

"Quick Search"

For a quick search, simply enter terms in the search box.

Click on Advanced under the search box to have more control over the search.

The best way to search PubMed is by using the MeSH Databse (consisting of MeSH, or Medical Subject Headings - see Explore menu at bottom of the page).

Using Advanced search:

  • Go to the Search Builder box
    • Click Show Index to see a list of terms, if desired
    • Use the drop down menu to add AND, OR or NOT with search terms to the search box
    • Repeat steps as necessary
    • Click Search to run your query. The results may be refined by using the filters in the left-side menu of the results page.
    • Once the search is run, click Advanced Search again  to see the result count of your query in the History and Search Details section
    • Click on Details to view how PubMed interpretted your search terms

Another source for full text articles - Toledo-Lucas County Public Library

Cannot access the full text of an article in PubMed?
Are you a registered user of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library?
The Toledo-Public Library may be able to obtain it for you.
Ask a reference librarian at any of the public library branches for details.

VIDEO TUTORIAL from National Library of Medicine: Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query