LibGuides: Women in STEMM: STEMM in General

Women's Programs Initiative Recommendations

Below find a list of articles and books recommended by the University of Toledo Health Science Campus Women's Programs Initiative, covering topics such as trends in women in science and medicine, work/life balance, and women in leadership. Items specific to medical professions are listed separately on the Medicine tab.

For off-campus access to licensed materials, search the library catalog for the title of the journal/publication.

Women in biomedical careers
Information from the National Institutes of Health.
The next step for female scientists
Chronicle of Higher Education, 2012 February 13.
Athene Donald on women in science: a FiveBooks interview
June 15, 2011
Lessons of the leaky pipeline
GenomeWeb. 2010 October. Written by Matthew Dublin.
Young women in science
2009. Science/AAAS, the L'Oréal Foundation, and UNESCO
Gender differences at critical transitions in the careers of science, engineering, and mathematics faculty
2010. Book. Read online at National Academies Press for free.
more...less...
Committee on Gender Differences in the Careers of Science, Engineering, and Mathematics Faculty; Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine; Committee on National Statistics; National Research Council. Gender differences at critical transitions in the careers of science, engineering, and mathematics faculty. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2010.
Why so few? Women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics
2010. Report of AAUW (American Association of University Women).
Unmasking the impostor
Nature, 2009
more...less...
Kaplan K. Unmasking the impostor. Nature 459, 468-469 (20 May 2009).
Women, birth, death, and mathematics
Chronicle of Higher Education, 2010.
more...less...
D'Agostino S. (2010). Women, birth, death, and mathematics. Chronicle of Higher Education, 2010 February 7.
Colleges look for new ways to help women in science
Chronicle of Higher Education, 2010
more...less...
June AW. Colleges look for new ways to help women in science. Chron Higher Ed 2010, January 24.
To name or not to name: The effect of changing author gender on peer review
BioScience, 2009
more...less...
Borsuk RM, Aarssen LW, Budden AE, Koricheva J, Leimu R, Tregenza T, Lortie CJ. To name or not to name: The effect of changing author gender on peer review. BioScience 2009 Dec;59(11):985-989.
Diversity isn’t rocket science, is it?
New York Times, 2008
more...less...
Belkin L. Diversity isn’t rocket science, is it? New York Times 2008, May 15.
See Jane lead: 99 ways for women to take charge at work
2007. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Frankel LJ. See Jane lead: 99 ways for women to take charge at work. New York: Warner Business Books; 2007.
Rising above the gathering storm: energizing and employing America for a brighter economic future
2007. Book. Read online at National Academies Press for free.
more...less...
Morrison AM. Rising above the gathering storm: energizing and employing America for a brighter economic future. Washington, DC: National Academies Press; 2007.
Rising above the gathering storm: energizing and employing America for a brighter economic future
2007. Book. Can be read online at National Academies Press for free.
more...less...
Committee on Prospering in the Global Economy of the 21st Century, Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy. Rising above the gathering storm: energizing and employing America for a brighter economic future. Washington, DC; 2007.
Women and the labyrinth of leadership
Harvard Business Review, 2007
more...less...
Eagly AH, Carli LL. Women and the labyrinth of leadership. Harvard Business Review. 2007 September;85(9):62-71, 146.
Hardball for women: winning at the game of business
2005. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Heim P, Golant SK. Hardball for women: winning at the game of business. Rev. ed. New York: Plume; 2005.
The hurried woman syndrome: a 7-step program to conquer fatigue, control weight, and restore passion to your relationship
2005. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Bost B. The hurried woman syndrome: a 7-step program to conquer fatigue, control weight, and restore passion to your relationship. New York: McGraw-Hill; 2005.
The Houston area survey (1982-2005) : public perceptions in remarkable times : tracking change through 24 years of Houston's surveys
2005. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Klineberg SL. The Houston area survey (1982-2005) : public perceptions in remarkable times : tracking change through 24 years of Houston's surveys. Houston, TX: Rice University; 2005.
Women's pay: why the gap remains a chasm
Business Week, 2004
more...less...
Bernstein A. Women's pay: why the gap remains a chasm. Business Week. 2004 June 14;(3887):58-9.
In the company of women: turning workplace conflict into powerful alliances
2001. Book. In UToledo Libraries
more...less...
Heim P, Murphy S, and Golant S. In the company of women: turning workplace conflict into powerful alliances. New York: Tarcher/Putnam; 2001.
Execution: the discipline of getting things done
2002. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Bossidy L. Execution: the discipline of getting things done 1st ed. Charan R, Burck C, editors. New York: Crown Business; 2002.
You just don't understand: women and men in conversation
2001. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Tannen D. You just don't understand: women and men in conversation. 1st Quill ed ed. New York: Quill; 2001.
Why so slow?: the advancement of women
1999. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Valian V. Why so slow?: the advancement of women. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press; 1999.
Nobel Prize women in science: their lives, struggles, and momentous discoverie
1998. Book. In UToledo Libraries
more...less...
McGrayne SB. Nobel Prize women in science: their lives, struggles, and momentous discoveries. Secaucus, NJ: Carol Pub. Group; 1998.
Ms. Mentor's impeccable advice for women in academia
1997. Book. In UToledo Libraries
more...less...
Toth E. Ms. Mentor's impeccable advice for women in academia. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press; 1997.
Breaking the glass ceiling: can women reach the top of America's largest corporations?
1994. Book. Can be requested through OhioLINK
more...less...
Morrison AM, White RP, Van Velsor E. Breaking the glass ceiling: can women reach the top of America's largest corporations?. Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley; 1994.
Scholars' awards go mainly to men
Nature, 2011

Finding Articles on Women in STEMM

Use the Research Databases listed below to search for more articles on this topic. Suggested subject headings or keywords are given for each database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Use keywords like "Women in Science", "Women in Physics", etc., or "Women Scientists", "Women Physicians", etc.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the scholarly literature in women's studies. Use "Women Scientists", "Women in Science", or more specifically "Women [profession]" and "Women in [discipline]" to find relevant articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of journals from the medical literature. Use the term "Physicians, Women" as the proper Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) term for this topic.
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.

Books on Women in STEMM

Becoming Leaders by F. Mary Williams; Carolyn J. Emerson
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) T36 .W55 2019
Beating the odds : winning strategies of women in STEM by Patty Rowland Burke, Kelly Simmons
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2020
Science by Women : stories from careers in STEM by Eucharia Oluchi Nwaichi (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2021
Breaking In by Ann Wolverton; Lisa Nagaoka; Mimi Wolverton; Donna J. Dean (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2015
Has feminism changed science? / by Londa Schiebinger
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) Q130 .S29 1999
Lifting the Veil by Linda J. Shepherd
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) Q130 .S48 1993
Motherhood, the elephant in the laboratory: women scientists speak out
Call Number: Available from OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2008
Scientific pioneers : women succeeding in science by Joyce Tang
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) Q130 .T36 2006
Sisters in science : conversations with black women scientists about race, gender, and their passion for science by Diann Jordan
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2006
The science on women and science by Christina Hoff Sommers
Call Number: Available through OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2009
Transforming science and engineering: advancing academic women
Call Number: Available through OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2007
Why aren't more women in science? : top researchers debate the evidence
Call Number: CARLSON General (4th fl) Q130 .W49 2007
Women in science : then and now by Stephen J. Ceci and Wendy M. Williams
Call Number: Available through OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2009
Women, science, and myth: gender beliefs from antiquity to the present by Sue V. Rosser, editor
Call Number: Available through OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2008
Women, science, and technology: a reader in feminist science studies by Mary Wyer ... [et al.], editors
Call Number: Available through OhioLINK
Publication Date: 2009

Web Resources on Women in STEMM

Women in STEM: A Gender Gap to Innovation
Tables and graphs showing underrepresentation of women in STEM from U.S. Department of Commerce Economics and Statistics Administration. August 2011.
Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering
From the National Science Foundation, "statistical information about the participation of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities in science and engineering education and employment."
CareerWise for Women in Science and Engineering
A project of Arizona State University, supported by the National Science Foundation. "Are you a woman in science or engineering? You know about problem-solving in technical areas. Now learn how to take on interpersonal and personal issues too. Watch role models. Develop new skills for your career. Discover that you are not alone."
The STEM Gap: Women and Girls in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
Report from the American Association of University Women.
Female Nobel Prize Laureates
Listing of women who have won the Nobel Prize in any of its categories, with links to additional information.
Women In Biomedical Careers
The women’s profiles featured on this website highlight their contributions to research, what they learned along the way, and advice they have for other women in science.
For Women in Science
A partnership between L'Oreal and UNESCO to recognize and support women in sciences internationally through an award and fellowship program.
INWES - International Network of Women Engineers and Scientists
An international network specifically focused on supporting women in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics).
Gender Differences in the Careers of Academic Scientists and Engineers
A special report from the National Science Foundation.
National Girls Collaborative Project
The vision of the NGCP is to bring together organizations throughout the United States that are committed to informing and encouraging girls to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).
The Untold History of Women in Science and Technology
The White House provides this website, a set of largely unknown stories of female pioneers in the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields, dating from the 19th to the 21st centuries.

Professionial Associations

Association for Women in Science
The Association for Women in Science is dedicated to achieving equality and full participation for women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
GWIS: Graduate Women in Science
Seeks to advance the participation and recognition of women in science and to foster research through grants, awards, and fellowships.
Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine (CWSEM)
A standing committee of the National Research Council (NRC) with a mandate to coordinate, monitor, and advocate action to increase the participation of women in science, engineering, and medicine.

Getting Girls & Young Women Interested in STEMM

Women's Adventures in Science
A project of the National Academy of Sciences intended to showcase the accomplishments of contemporary women in science and to highlight for young people the varied and intriguing careers of some of today's most prominent scientists.
Doing What Works - Encouraging Girls in Math and Science
This Practice Guide was developed at the U.S. Department of Education. It offers five recommendations to encourage girls in math and science. A summary of the research evidence and a level-of-evidence rating are provided for each recommendation.
Engineer Girl, from the National Academy of Engineering
A site for parents, teachers, engineers, and others interested in helping girls discover the opportunities in engineering careers.

Videos

Vivian Pinn, M.D. "Women's Health in the USA"
Dr. Pinn, National Institutes of Health, provided the keynote address at the Women and STEM conference held by the University of Toledo, August 10, 2011, at the Toledo Hilton.
Pioneers in science: Carla Shatz and Helen Blau
more...less...
"When Carla Shatz, PhD, professor of neurobiology, and Helen Blau, PhD, professor of microbiology and immunology, came to Stanford in 1978, they were two of he first women to be hired on the tenure tract for basic science faculty....In this video, they discuss the courses their paths have taken and reflect on the rewards and challenges of their lives as women scientists."
Minority Women In Science
more...less...
"An insightful look at four women scientists, all from different countries of origin, as they describe their experiences working in the United States, confronting issues such as gender and its impact on professional advancement, quality of research, and quality of life. This film was first shown in Cambridge Community Television (CCTV) on April 28th, 2007 as part of the Cambridge Science Festival"