This is the "Electronic Books" page of the "Books and e-Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Books and e-Books   Tags: books, catalog, e-books, ebooks, electronic books, how to find, libraries  

How to find books and other materials in library catalogs
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utoledo.edu/findbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Electronic Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Electronic Books

The University Libraries provide access to several electronic book collections, giving our patrons access to thousands of titles in online formats.  Some collections are only available for use from on-campus computers.   To search for an electronic book in our library catalog, you can Limit/Sort your search results to the Material Type: E-Book.  Note: Most of our books can be viewed on the website or as PDF files, but not downloaded to your e-book reader.

Free Sources for E-books

Many of these sites provide access to digital copies of books that are in the public domain (no longer under copyright) and therefore have many classics and older works.

 

Search Google Books

Google scans books from libraries or accepts digital copies from publishers.  Depending on copyright status, you may be able to see an entire book, a multi-page preview, or just snippets of text.



 

Hathi Trust Search

Search Hathi Trust's digital collection. HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries. The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects.

Subscription E-Book Collections

These collections provide on-screen access to electronic books, most with limited printing and saving options.  These titles are not downloadable in common e-book reader formats.

  • OhioLINK Electronic Books Center  Icon
    A portal for several collections available through OhioLINK. The Scholarly & Reference collection are special-topic reference books, as well as more general books from Oxford University Press and Springer. The American & English Literature Collection contains the full text of British and American poetry, prose, and drama. You can Browse the books in their entirety, or search for a specific entry by keyword.
  • NetLibrary  
      
      Icon
    Several thousand electronic books from a variety of publishers, covering recent editions in all subject areas. In many ways, NetLibrary books behave like physical books; only one person can use them at a time, they cannot be downloaded and can be printed only a page at a time. You can browse a book indefinitely (with a fifteen minute inactivity ‘time out’ period), or check it out for two hours at a time.
  • Safari Tech Books  Icon
    Over 1600 books from information technology publishers such as O’Reilly, Que, and Microsoft. Any number of people can use these books at one time, and the contents are displayed section by section, rather than page by page. This is a great collection for people in computer sciences or anyone who uses computers.
  • Humanities E-Book Collection  Icon
    A digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles in the Humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

E-Books for Health Sciences

All of these resources are available on the Health Science Campus, including in the Medical Center. Off-campus access to many of these resources is restricted to faculty, residents, staff, and students who are affiliated with the Medical Center or one of the Health Science Campus colleges (Health Science and Human Service, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy). If you have questions about whether you are entitled to remote access to these resources, contact Mulford Reference Assistance

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip