Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Books and e-Books: Electronic Books

How to find books and other materials in library catalogs

About Electronic Books

The University Libraries provide access to several electronic book collections, giving our patrons access to thousands of titles in online formats.  Some collections are only available for use from on-campus computers. To search for an electronic book in our library catalog, you can Limit/Sort your search results to the Material Type: E-Book.  Note: Most of our books can be viewed on the website or as PDF files, but not downloaded to your e-book reader.

Free Sources for E-books

Many of these sites provide access to digital copies of books that are in the public domain (no longer under copyright) and therefore have many classics and older works.

Search Google Books

Google scans books from libraries or accepts digital copies from publishers.  Depending on copyright status, you may be able to see an entire book, a multi-page preview, or just snippets of text.

Google Book Search

Hathi Trust Search

Search Hathi Trust's digital collection. HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries. The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects.

Public Library E-Books

The Toledo Lucas County Public Library has a vast collection of pleasure reads and academic books in e-book form. The TLCPL uses the app host Libby from OverDrive as their platform to provide e-book access. Sign up is simple, all you need is a Toledo Lucas County Public Library card  and a tablet, phone, or e-reader. 

Libby provides access to e-books, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library for free! 

If you are interested in downloading Libby but do not have a library card, Toledo Lucas County Public Library provides digital library cards that can be used with Libby to provide access to your next read! See here for details.

Subscription E-Book Collections

These collections provide on-screen access to electronic books, most with limited printing and saving options.  These titles are not downloadable in common e-book reader formats.

E-Books for Health Sciences

All of these resources are available on the Health Science Campus, including in the Medical Center. Off-campus access to many of these resources is restricted to faculty, residents, staff, and students who are affiliated with the Medical Center or one of the Health Science Campus colleges (Health Science and Human Service, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy). If you have questions about whether you are entitled to remote access to these resources, contact Mulford Reference Assistance