Skip to main content

Articles: Finding Articles on a Topic

How to obtain a copy of an article or find articles on a topic.

Choosing the Right Databases

Our Research Databases are the most efficient way to identify articles (and sometimes other resource types as well) on a topic or by a particular author. The most important part of finding relevant articles is selecting the right database to search. (As an extreme example, searching an English literature database won't be useful if you are looking for articles on treating congestive heart failure.)

UT users have access to over one hundred databases.  To help you find the one you need for a particular topic, you can see them arranged by Subject Category or by Name .  Each category lists relevant subject databases, but if you know the name of a specific database, you can go to that letter or simply look up the database by title in the UT Library Catalog. 

If you are unsure of which database to use, a general purpose database such as the ones on this page may get you started, or use the search below to search some of most popular databases and library catalog.  (Hint:  Use the Peer Reviewed check box to limit to peer-reviewed articles).

Discover most our of books, articles, etc. with one search!

Limit to:
More options: Your Library Record | ILLiad | New Titles
Other Catalogs: Classic Catalog | OhioLINK | WorldCat | Public Library
More Databases: PubMed | LexisNexis | Web of Science | All Databases
Find Article from a Citation | Google Scholar

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete

More recommendations

You can also find excellent suggestions for specific databases, journal titles, and ways of finding articles in the LibGuides for individual subjects.

ISI Citation Indexes Search

Web of Knowledge

Search Web of ScienceSM
   

If you have difficulty, please login to the full database.

Google Scholar

Journals vs. Magazines

Magazines:

•miscellaneous articles covering a wide variety of subject areas

•non-technical language

•articles submitted by writers or editors employed by magazine

Scholarly Peer-reviewed Journals

•reports of research carried in a particular subject

•written in language of the field

•bibliographic references given

•articles submitted by researchers and or experts in the field

•edited by referees, other experts, and editors