Library Computers
The Libraries' computers can be used by anyone to do research using the
Libraries' resources or the Internet. Library workstations
are
equipped with web browsers (Internet Explorer
and Firefox), basic utilities such as Adobe Acrobat Reader, and standard
office
applications such
as word processors, spreadsheets, etc. Please
see the computer use policies.
In
order to provide a secure network and to prevent illegal download
activity of
copyrighted materials from University Library
computers, UTAD logins will be required to access most computer
workstations
within the libraries.
Public access is still available at selected
computers near the reference desk in Carlson Library. At Mulford
Library, please
see
the staff at the Service Desk for non-UTAD
access to Mulford Library workstations.
Laptops & Wireless Computing
All floors of Carlson and Mulford Libraries are a wireless environment. Please note that wireless coverage may be reduced in some areas, especially near the outer walls of the building.
Laptops that are wireless-ready may be checked out from the Carlson IT Help Desk or Mulford Library Service Desk for up to 3 hours. The laptops cannot leave the building or be checked out overnight. Overdue fines are $2.00 for the first hour and $10.00/hour thereafter. A replacement charge of $3,000.00 will be assessed if the laptop is not returned in three days. Technical assistance with using the laptops is available in the Information Commons at Carlson Library or from the CLRC at Mulford Library.
Laptops on the wireless computing network in Mulford Library print to Print Station 4.3 in the 4th Floor Online Resources Room.
Carlson Library Information Commons
The Information Commons in Carlson Library is a collaboration between the University Libraries and Information Technology which brings together a variety of services for student success. The Information Commons is open 24/5 during Fall and Spring terms and features:
- current technology in a relaxing environment, including
- 100 general workstations for student use (UTAD login, Windows Vista, Microsoft Office)
- a full list of software available on these 'Virtual Lab' machines is available in the VLab FAQ
- 10 laser printers
- 50 laptops for checkout and use within the Library's wireless environment (UTAD Login, Microsoft Office, Vista or Windows XP)
- 6 public-access workstations (public login, Windows Vista, no Microsoft Office)
- 2 Media labs equipped with 20 dual-boot Macintosh computers and 2 scanners to produce and edit multimedia, audio, and video
- 2 Accessibility workstations with hardware and software for patrons with mobility or vision impairments
- Wireless network using secure authentication
- 100 general workstations for student use (UTAD login, Windows Vista, Microsoft Office)
- Library services, including
- Reference Librarians that can help you find material for your research and
- 3 Information Literacy classrooms (two 32 seat and one 20 seat capacity) to learn about how to find, evaluate, and organize information.
- An 8,000 volume reference book collection
- An IT Help Desk, for troubleshooting and training on computer software applications and hardware.
- 3 Group study rooms.
Other services located in Carlson Library near the Information Commons include
- The Learning Enghancement Center to get individual additional tutoring and instruction for your classes. (Located on the Lower Level)
- The Writing Center, for assistance in the writing process at all levels of learning. (Located across the hallway from the Info Commons)
In order to ensure an environment conducive to learning for all of the Information Commons patrons, we ask that you adhere to these policies.
Information Commons Policies - General
The University of Toledo Libraries have instituted some policies in order to preserve our collection and ensure that the library is a safe and comfortable environment for all of our patrons. We ask that you be considerate of your fellow library users and abide by the following rules. Some locations, services, and collections may have particular policies governing their use. The University of Toledo Libraries, its collections and facilities, are available to everyone, including visitors. However, between midnight and 7:30am, Thursday through Sunday, you will need to use your UT Rocket ID card in the card swipe at the South entrance to gain access to the building. We enforce the University’s policy that children under the age of 14 must be accompanied by an adult and making bona fide use of the library’s collections.
Cell Phones
Cell phone ringers must be turned off or set to vibrate within the building. Cell phones may be used in the elevator lobbies on the lower level, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th floors and the concourse area away from the Information and Circulation Desks.
Noise
The Information Commons is a research, study, and collaborative work environment. It is NOT a quiet study area. Conversation is acceptable as long as it does not disturb other library patrons. Head phones and laptop audio features should be kept low so as not to disturb patrons. If you wish to listen to audio, please provide your own head phones.
Referrals
When patron questions cannot be addressed by the Information Commons staff in a timely manner, referrals will be made to appropriate sources such as subject specialists, professional staff, the Information Technology Help Desk, other campus units, online resources, or other libraries or organizations that can provide the needed information or assistance.
Food, Drink, and Tobacco
No food is allowed in Carlson Library. Drinks are allowed, but must be in covered containers.
The purpose of the food and drink policy is to aid in the preservation and care of library materials and electronic equipment, to maintain pest-free buildings, to reduce litter, and to ensure a clean environment for research and collaboration. Users are liable for any damage to library property caused by food or drinks.
Tobacco use is prohibited in all University buildings and smoking is prohibited within 30 feet of all buildings.
Lost and found items may be turned in at the Circulation Desk. After approximately one week, uncollected items are taken to the University police station.
The posting of flyers, brochures, or advertisements is not permitted. Only library and Information Commons faculty and staff may post information in the Information Commons.
Information Commons Policies - Computer Use
Most computers in the Information Commons are for the use of currently enrolled UT students, faculty, and staff members. Several computers are available for use by the general public. Information Commons workstations are available on a first come, first served basis. Priority for use is given to those conducting academic or course-related work. Downloading and installation of programs, software, etc., is not permitted. See University of Toledo Responsible use of Computing Resources policies.
Due to the public nature of libraries, individuals should demonstrate respect for individuals’ rights to privacy and freedom from intimidation or harassment. Users are asked to be sensitive to the fact that some on-screen images, sounds, or messages might create an atmosphere of intimidation or harassment for others.
Laptop Lending Service and Troubleshooting
Laptop
computers may be checked out from the IT Help Desk for up to 3
hours. The laptops cannot leave the building or
be checked out over night. It is necessary to make preparations to
save
work in advance of closing time and to return
laptop computers before closing time. Laptops must be returned to the IT
Help
Desk at least one
hour before closing.
Information Technology staff will provide laptop computer support to assist users in connecting to the campus network, configuring standard tools, and basic trouble shooting as time permits. We do not guarantee the retrieval of lost data. Efforts will be made to locate and retrieve lost data as time permits.
Damaged or Lost Equipment or Hardware
If you encounter a damaged computer, please notify the IT Help Desk staff immediately; they will try to address the problem or complete a trouble report for that workstation. Please note that you are responsible for any damaged or lost peripherals or equipment that you reserve.
Adaptive Technology Workstations
The Information Commons provides adaptive technology workstations. Priority use of the workstations shall be given to students with special adaptive technology needs who have registered with the Office of Accessibility and have received training on the use of the technology. If an adaptive workstation is required by a student with special needs, Information Commons staff will ask non-registered users to relocate to other computers.
For more information, including assistance in learning how to use the adaptive technology, contact the Office of Accessibility at 419.530.4981 (phone) or 419.530.2612 (TTY).
Information Commons Policies - Rooms
Instructional Services
The University of Toledo instructional librarians provide instructional support to UT faculty and academic support to UT undergraduate and graduate students. Through a comprehensive program of instruction, including library sessions, print and online instructional aids, and continual assessment, we strive to create collaborative relationships among our community.
Classrooms in the Information Commons are intended for courses, labs, and other instructional sessions that:
- emphasize information literacy and the integration information sources into research and learning.
- make extensive use of interactive teaching/learning methods, multimedia, and other computer-based source materials.
The University Libraries are committed to developing strong teaching partnerships with university faculty. Classrooms may be scheduled to teach information literacy, research, and computing instruction sessions with the aid of Information Literacy and Subject Specialty Librarians and/or Lab Support Group personnel. University faculty wanting to schedule these instructional facilities for the above purposes should contact Thomas Atwood, Coordinator of Information Literacy and Instruction at 419.530.2833 or thomas.atwood@utoledo.edu.
We encourage university faculty to give 2 weeks notice for instruction in all classrooms. Instruction is available at the undergraduate and graduate level at any time during fall, spring, and summer sessions.
Faculty and Instructors: We provide services that will help your students meet your course learning objectives and become familiar with the information sources integral to the discipline.
Student Researchers: We can help you learn how to use the library and its resources in order to get the information you need for class assignments.
Group Study Room Uses
Use of Group Study Rooms is for 2 or more people.
Use of study rooms is restricted to currently enrolled UT students.
These rooms must be occupied to retain use.
If the room is unoccupied for more than 5 minutes, any belongings will be taken to the Circulation Desk and the room will be available for others to use.
Additional individual and group study space is available on the upper floors of Carlson Library.
Media Lab
The Media Lab contains workstations installed with media production software. Patrons requiring the use of these multimedia workstations are given priority.
The media production areas are reserved for University-affiliated patrons.
You must comply with all Library-wide computer use policies.
You must provide your own digital media for storage. (e.g., floppy disks, CD-R/CD-RWs, or USB flash drives).
You should know how to use the equipment and software available. Information Commons Instructional Technology staff will help you with your computing questions. Library IT staff will also be on duty to provide basic assistance with the equipment and software.
You must always logoff the workstation when you are finished using it. Never shut the computer down. Never leave your session open for others to use!
Patrons who are not using the specialized multimedia software will be asked to move to the general computing areas.

Loading...
