Africana Studies: Websites

Manuscript, text and images drawn from the Ohio Historical Society illuminates the history of black Ohio from 1850 to 1920, a story of slavery and freedom, segregation and integration, religion and politics, migrations and restrictions, harmony and discord, and struggles and successes.

A Library of Congress Resource Guide for Black History & Culture, dense with full-text information and digital images.

An extensive collection of links about Africa.

A portal to multimedia collections about Africa.

Founders of Black History Month.

This 3,000 page reference center provides information on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.

A digital initiative from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes thirteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Presents 396 pamphlets, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.

A Research Project of the African Studies Center of UCLA. Contains text, audio and images.

Say it Plain is the first anthology of African American political oratory designed for the ear (audio clips) and the eye (images and text).

A library website with a rich digital collection including exhibits and image collections.

"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.

In the late 30's and early 40's, federal and private agencies sent interviewers across the South in an effort to document music and culture. This website presents these original recordings and dramatic readings of some of the written transcripts by actors Debbie Allen, Melba Moore, Louis Gossett Jr., Esther Rolle, James Earl Jones, Clifton Davis, and others.

Contains information on documented slave expeditions, maps, essays, images of the original archival resources, lesson plans and a list of web resources. Data can be manuipulated to create charts, tables, and maps.