LibGuides: BUAD 1020 Micro-Computer Applications in Business : eBooks

About Electronic Books

The University Libraries provide access to several electronic book collections, giving our patrons access to thousands of titles in online formats. Some collections are only available for use from on-campus computers. To search for an electronic book in our library catalog, you can Limit/Sort your search results to the Material Type: eBook. Note: Most of our books can be viewed on the website or as PDF files, but not downloaded to your eBook reader.

Free Sources for eBooks

Online Books Page

Many of these sites provide access to digital copies of books that are in the public domain (no longer under copyright) and therefore have many classics and older works.

Project Gutenberg

Mathematics (Bookshelf)- Gutenberg

Subscription eBook Collections

These collections provide on-screen access to electronic books, most with limited printing and saving options. These titles are not downloadable in common e-book reader formats.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A portal for several collections available through OhioLINK. The Scholarly & Reference collection are special-topic reference books, as well as more general books from Oxford University Press and Springer. The American & English Literature Collection contains the full text of British and American poetry, prose, and drama. You can Browse the books in their entirety, or search for a specific entry by keyword.
EBSCO eBook Collection (NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Several thousand electronic books from a variety of publishers, covering recent editions in all subject areas. In many ways, NetLibrary books behave like physical books; only one person can use them at a time, they cannot be downloaded and can be printed only a page at a time. You can browse a book indefinitely (with a fifteen minute inactivity ‘time out’ period), or check it out for two hours at a time.
Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of about 35,00 full text books in technology, digital media, business, and personal and professional development. Publishers represented include O'Reilly Media, Peachpit Press, Adobe Press, Microsoft Press, John Wiley, AMACOM, and Prentice-Hall.
EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Collection of 130,000+ books from scholarly publishers covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Browsable by subject areas or searchable across the entire collection. Books can be read online or downloaded for offline use for up to 2 weeks. To download or take advantage of features such as annotating, printing, or bookmarking, users will need to create a personal ebrary account. (An Adobe Digital Editions account is also required for downloading a book.) Note: UToledo Libraries has a subscription for an *unlimited* number of users and borrowers.

Hathi Trust Search

Search Hathi Trust's digital collection. HathiTrust contains millions of digital books, journals, government documents, and other volumes, all digitized from research libraries. The collection includes both public domain and in-copyright works across a full range of subjects.

Search Google Books

Google scans books from libraries or accepts digital copies from publishers. Depending on copyright status, you may be able to see an entire book, a multi-page preview, or just snippets of text.