Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Illuminating the dark side of occupation : international perspectives from occupational therapy and occupational science
Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy
Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy
Assistive Technologies : principles & practice
Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice
Measuring Occupational Performance
Cases in Pediatric Occupational Therapy
Conditions in Occupational Therapy
Handbook of Occupational Health and Wellness
Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents
Willard and Spackman's Occupational Therapy
Functional and Occupational Performance in Older Adults
Support the health, well-being, and quality of life of older adults! Here's the ideal resource for students who are preparing to work with older adults. This text discusses the complexity of the aging experience, the science that contributes to positive aging, and the specific considerations that occupational therapy practitioners must bring to their efforts to support older adults. You'll find descriptions of the normal aging process, discussions of how health and social factors can impact your clients' ability to participate in valued occupations, and guidance on how to develop occupation-based strategies for maximizing their well-being. New Chapters! Features nine new chapters, Aging and Culture; Identity, Sexuality, and Relationships; Legal and Ethical Issues; Special Concerns in Care and Prevention; Metabolic Conditions; Home Management; Health Management and Sleep; Community Mobility and Driving; Caregiving; and Acute Care Services. Revised! Features a reconceptualized section, Aging: Body Structures and Body Functions, with chapters addressing both normal aging and health conditions to provide a holistic perspective on functional and occupational performance in older adults and OT interventions. Updated & Expanded! Addresses interprofessional practice as interprofessional collaboration to emphasize its importance in today's healthcare environment and to clients. New! Threads "Case Studies" throughout the chapters to encourage in-the-moment application of the content, and revisits those related to health conditions in the chapters on service delivery to help students appreciate the delivery of OT services in different care contexts. Revised and Updated! Incorporates the most current evidence available and presents strategies supported by the evidence in "Promoting Best Practices" boxes. New! Summarizes the assessments most relevant to older adult practice, occupation, and psychometrically best practices in an assessment table organized by ICF factors. Encourages clinical reasoning with a "Mini-Case Study" and "Provocative Questions" at the beginning of each chapter and "Critical-Thinking Questions" at the end of each chapter with the author's suggested responses in Appendix A. Reviews assessment and intervention strategies. Uses the International Classification of Function (ICF; World Health Organization) as its major organizing principle.
Therapeutic Exercise for Parkinson's Disease and Related Disorders
With an accurate and up-to-date approach, this book offers a comprehensive view of Parkinson's disease in the context of movement as a pillar of health. It compiles the current scientific knowledge supporting exercise therapy as a powerful tool to preventing and relieving symptoms, and to slowing the progression of Parkinson's disease. The work presents different therapeutic exercises, such as cueing, gait training, virtual reality, exergames, occupational therapy, electrostimulation, perturbed training, Qigong, and other methods. The pathophysiology, diagnosis, pharmacological interaction, motor and nonmotor symptoms, and the effects of exercise therapy are addressed in detail. Readers will learn to identify protective factors, to take precautions, to manage associated risks, and to dose the exercise load for Parkinson's. The work collects years of research and top-quality scientific evidence and goes beyond by presenting an innovative training planning proposal, which allows readers to prescribe exercise in a logical and quantitative way for patients with Parkinson's and other neurodegenerative diseases. Therapeutic exercise for Parkinson's Disease and Related Disorders is an essential work that provides new perspectives on how to prevent and reverse neurodegeneration. It is a must-read for healthcare professionals, students, and all those committed to improving the quality of life of people with Parkinson's disease.
Neuropsychological Interventions for Children - Volume 1
This book is the first of two volumes that aim to serve as a comprehensive guide for professionals working with neuropsychological interventions especially designed for children. It is useful in neuropsychology teaching contexts and for students and professionals in interface areas, such as Psychology, Education, Speech Therapy, Occupational Therapy among others.
Neuropsychological Interventions for Children - Volume 2
This book is the second of two volumes that aim to serve as a comprehensive guide for professionals working with neuropsychological interventions especially designed for children. This second volume complements the theoretical and practical foundations presented in the first volume by presenting applications to different clinical conditions and by exploring interfaces of neuropsychology with other areas of research and practice. Chapters in this second volume are divided into two parts. The first part presents a series of case studies, illustrating the practice and experience of neuropsychological rehabilitation and habilitation in different clinical conditions. The second part brings together chapters that discuss the interfaces of neuropsychology with different areas, which can use its knowledge and interventions (such as school neuropsychology) or which can be used as strategies within neuropsychological intervention or even compose inter and transdisciplinary partnerships in the work of promotion, stimulation, or cognitive remediation, such as the use and role of music, games and play, mindfulness, and transcranial direct current stimulation. So, chapters in this second part highlight the interfaces with other approaches, knowledges or disciplines. Originally published in Portuguese and now available in English, Neuropsychological Interventions for Children - Volumes 1 and 2 will be of interest to professionals working with neuropsychology in clinical and school contexts. It will also be useful in neuropsychology teaching contexts (specialization courses in neuropsychology and related areas) and for students and professionals in interface areas, such as Psychology, Education, Speech Therapy, Occupational Therapy among others. The translation of the original Portuguese version of this book into English was done with the help of artificial intelligence. A subsequent human revision was done primarily in terms of content.
Home Care for Older Adults Using Interprofessional Teams
This textbook fosters a deeper understanding of how home healthcare goals for older adults can be achieved through interprofessional collaboration. The contributors create a context where allied health and healthcare professionals can acquire and exchange knowledge about their diverse disciplines and practices for the betterment of the home care population. The book also reinforces what the COVID-19 pandemic made quite apparent to health institutions and providers: patients can receive adequate and acceptable care within the home setting. The pandemic also highlighted the important role that interprofessionalism can play in attaining desired patient outcomes. Statistics reveal that the population of persons over the age of 65 years is the largest that it has ever been. This volume focuses on older adult patients because caring for these individuals from an interprofessional perspective is now more important than ever. Through the ten chapters of this edited book, the contributors including home care providers offer their perspectives on interprofessional collaboration and the provision of quality home care services. They use the Interprofessional Education Collaborative's (IPEC) four core competencies as a framework for improving the collaborative practice of home health care for older adult patients with complex medical issues. Among the topics covered: Medical Social Work and Case Management Skilled Nursing Physical Therapy Occupational Therapy Behavioral Health Care Other Relevant Home Care Services: Prosthetics and Orthotics, Pharmacy Services, Durable Medical Equipment and Nutritional Services Home Care for Older Adults Using Interprofessional Teams is intended for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in health or allied health programs and can be used as a primary text for interprofessional education courses. The text benefits students, instructors, and faculty who have stakes in obtaining positive health outcomes for older adult patients. Today, more and more programs are requiring the development of interprofessional competencies. This book provides a forum where students can obtain in-depth knowledge of teaming, as well as the roles and functions of various care providers.
Animal-assisted therapy with dogs : basics, animal ethics and practice of therapeutic work
Animal-assisted therapy has been the talk of the town for several years and is increasingly being integrated into the psychotherapeutic treatment of people. But how exactly can dogs support psychotherapeutic work? How can animal welfare and human welfare be combined? Which dogs are suitable and how are they prepared? This book provides a practical and lively insight into therapeutic work with dogs. In addition to an overview of the basics as well as animal welfare and ethical aspects of dog-assisted therapy, concrete exercises in the context of dog-assisted self-confidence training are described pictorially and by video, providing inspiration for therapeutic work in various institutions and situations. The content Animal-assisted therapy in general (definition, history of development, effective factors, controversies and currents) Animal ethics Conception of a good animal-assisted therapy, including selection of the dog and training, exercises, etc. Presentation of a dog-assisted self-confidence training with concrete exercises and examples. The target groups Psychotherapists, psychologists, occupational therapists as well as practitioners.
Primary care occupational therapy : a quick reference guide
This clinical manual guides best practices for primary care OT. Authors provide administrative information specific to OT in primary care, and interventions for specific health conditions, including chronic conditions, common to this setting.
Handbook of life course occupational health
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of recent developments in research on the relationship between occupational trajectories over the life course and health. It uncovers the impact of far-reaching changes of work and employment, as evidenced by increased flexibility, discontinuity, and technological innovation, and offers insights into recent theoretical and methodological developments addressing this challenge. In its main parts, it presents the best evidence to readers about the following topics: early life influences on (un)healthy work, chronic exposure to occupational risks; nonstandard employment and poor health; work continuation with chronic disease; occupational determinants of healthy aging. In its final part, it discusses policy implications of current knowledge and points to the need of developing new solutions in research and practice, not least in times of climate crisis and the new pandemic. The important handbook has been prepared by a distinguished editorial team, with chapters written by prominent international experts. Despite its continuous reference to scientific knowledge it addresses its content to a broader, non-specialized readership
Character Strengths and Abilities Within Disabilities
This book examines the science and practice of character strengths as the backbone for understanding, studying, and applying positive interventions across a wide range of disabilities. It explores character strengths as positive personality qualities most central to an individual's identity that create positive outcomes for building well-being and managing adversities and contribute to the collective good. The book recognizes disability as a part of the human experience that can emerge for anyone and the necessity for examining and applying strengths-based approaches. It explores what is known about character strengths and various disabilities from a science and practice perspective. The book reviews research on the assessment, correlations, concepts, populations, and applications of character strengths across disabilities. It disseminates disparate research and little-known best practices and hypothetical practices, along with multiple case examples, in the effort to advance the science and practice, bring a balanced approach to the field, and contribute to human flourishing. Key topics of coverage include: Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and character strengths. Intellectual and physical disabilities, medical illness and character strengths. Mental and emotional disorders (e.g., trauma) and character strengths. Character strengths and disability across special issues including justice, inclusion, dual-diagnosis, and spirituality. Understanding character strengths as internal capacities and abilities across disabilities, problems, and suffering. Character Strengths - the Abilities Within Disabilities is an essential and valuable resource for researchers, professors, clinicians, practitioners, and therapists as well as graduate students in the fields of developmental and positive psychology, rehabilitation, social work, special education, occupational, speech and language therapy, public health, and healthcare policy.
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis
This book provides comprehensive coverage of applied behavioral analysis (ABA). It examines the history and training methods of ABA as well as related ethical and legal issues. The book discusses various aspects of reinforcement, including social reinforcers, tangible reinforcers, automatic reinforcement, thinning reinforcers, and behavioral momentum. It addresses basic training strategies, such as prompts and fadings, stimulus fading, and stimulus pairing and provides insights into auditory/visual discrimination, instructional feedback, generalization, error correction procedures, and response interruption. In addition, the book addresses the use of ABA in education and explores compliance training, on-task behavior, teaching play and social skills, listening and academic skills, technology, remembering and cognitions, picture-based instruction, foreign language instruction, teaching verbal behavior, public speaking, and vocational skills. In addition, the book covers treatments for tics, trichotillomania, stereotypies, self-injurious behavior, aggression, and toe walking. It also addresses ABA for special populations, including individuals with autism, ADHD, substance abuse, and intellectual disabilities. Featured areas of coverage include: Basic assessment methods, such as observing behavior, treatment integrity, social validation, evaluating physical activity, measuring sleep disturbances, preference assessment, and establishing criteria for skill mastery. Functional assessment, including how to quantify outcomes and evaluate results, behaviors that precede and are linked to target behaviors, and treatments. Treatment methods, such as token economies, discrete trial instruction, protective equipment, group-based and parent training as well as staff training and self-control procedures. Health issues, including dental and self-care, life skills, mealtime and feeding, telehealth, smoking reduction and cessation, and safety training. Leisure and social skills, such as cellphone use, gambling, teaching music, sports and physical fitness. The Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis is a must-have reference for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other professionals in clinical child and school psychology, child and adolescent psychiatry, social work, behavioral therapy and rehabilitation, special education, developmental psychology, pediatrics, nursing, and all interrelated disciplines.
Physiotherapy for adult neurological conditions
The Essential Guide for Newly Qualified Occupational Therapists
Starting out in practice can be difficult and confusing. This guide for newly qualified occupational therapists provides an authoritative overview of what to expect in your role and work settings, and is full of practical guidance on how to make a good start to a successful practice. With chapters by experienced practitioners in the field, it offers insights into work in paediatrics, mental health, learning disability and the acute hospital setting. Vital information is also included on difficult aspects of practice such as legislation and data protection. It signposts sources for support and resources for furthering techniques in individual areas of work. Most importantly, the book offers tips for managing a busy workload, while building the positive relationships and resilience needed for a successful career in the occupational therapy.
Functional Electrical Stimulation in Neurorehabilitation
The Physical, Personal, and Social Impact of Spinal Cord Injury
This compact book uniquely examines individual lived experience with spinal cord injury (SCI). It provides education and a clearer understanding of the many facets of a SCI -- medical, physical, psychological, cognitive, personal, and social -- so that readers learn the effect a SCI can have on a person. The contents also include resources for more specific exploration of information.
Functional Movement Disorder
Autism Spectrum Disorder and Alzheimer's Disease
Occupational Group Therapy
Repetitve and restricted behaviors and interests in autism spectrum disorders : from neurobiology to behavior
Promoting Positive Behavioral Outcomes for Infants and Toddlers: an evidence-based guide to early intervention
Introduction to Research: understanding and applying multiple strategiesThe following databases contain eBooks:
Search the catalog of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system:
