LibGuides: Renewable Energy: Economic/Business Aspects

Business & Economic Databases

In addition to the databases listed on the 'Home' tab of this guide, the following databases may have more information about the business and economic aspects of the renewable energy industry.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to publications and information on business topics.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Index to international literature in economics.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to several databases that index scholarly and technical literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from journals and periodicals on all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to worldwide literature on the biology, ecology, and human impact on the environment
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from regional business newspapers, newswires, trade magazines, and more.

Gartner Portal
Insights on current technology trends, vendors, and technology-enabled business strategies.

Video Demonstrations!

View demos of article searches.

Link to the general Business Sources Guide for more resources

Business Sources
by Julia Martin Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 442 views this year

Economics
by Julia Martin Last Updated Oct 26, 2023 53 views this year

Recent Articles

Recent articles on economic aspects of renewable energy from the EconLit, Business Source Complete, and GREENfile databases.

Government Resources

Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Find information on energy efficiency, renewable energy, sustainable transportation, and career & funding opportunities from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Database of State Incentives for Renewables & Efficiency
Operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center, this resource allows users to view renewable energy policies and incentives by state.
Quantifying the Multiple Benefits of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy: A Guide for State and Local Governments
The U.S. EPA outlines methods analysts can use to measure the benefits of renewable energy.
Green Power Markets
The EPA's Green Power Partnership offers information on marketing aspects of renewable energy.
Ohio State Profile and Energy Estimates
Access an overview of energy use in the state of Ohio from the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
Ohio's renewable energy portfolio standard
Learn more about Ohio's renewable energy portfolio standard, a requirement that 8.5% of electricity is generated by renewable sources by 2026.
EIA - Annual Energy Outlook
The U.S. Energy Information Administration presents an assessment of the outlook for energy markets through 2050.
EPA List of Companies that buy green power
The U.S. EPA provides a list of its Green Power Partners as well as interactive charts summarizing each partner's green energy use.

Other Reports of Note

The Green Deal Industrial Plan
The European Commission's plan to promote the creation of a more supportive environment for deploying the clean tech manufacturing capacity required to meet Europe’s green targets. (2023)
United Nations: Climate Action
Global climate science and initiatives.
Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures
Created to help improve and increase reporting of climate-related financial information.
Global Reporting Initiative
International organization that helps businesses and other organizations take responsibility for their impacts.
Sustainability Accounting Standards Board
SASB Standards identify the subset of sustainability issues most relevant to financial performance.
Renewable Energy World
Find renewable energy news on various topics including solar energy, onshore and offshore wind power, bioenergy, energy storage, and more!
Climate Action
Provides news updates and various resources to encourage the development of globally sustainable energy solutions.