LibGuides: Library Access for Volunteer Faculty : Journal Articles

Clinical education articles of note

Midwifing the Student: Creating an Effective Learning Environment [2016]
Teaching applications relevant for preceptors in all biomedical settings
Collaborative and Bidirectional Feedback Between Students and Clinical Preceptors: Promoting Effective Communication Skills on Health Care Teams [2016]
These conversation skills "maximizes opportunities for role modeling and skills practice in the context of a supportive relationship, thereby enhancing team preparedness."
Precepting Challenge: Helping the Student Attain the Affective Skills of a Good Midwife [2016]
Good info for all preceptors as adult learning principles, learning domains, and solutions for student success
Applying effective teaching and learning techniques to nephrology education[2016]
Tips on teaching, adult learning principles, five microskills and more
Current Practices in Global/International Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences: Preceptor and Student Considerations [2016]
Includes general preceptor considerations as student considerations, learning outcomes, and cultural sensitivity,
Virtues Education in Medical School: The Foundation for Professional Formation
How do case presentation teaching methods affect learning outcomes?-SNAPPS and the One-Minute preceptor [2016]
Integrating Structured Learning and Scholarly Activities into Clerkship Rotations: A Win–Win for Students and Preceptors [2012]
" Rotations and clerkships can be transformed from haphazard, bystander observational experiences to active participation that enhances comprehension and retention, while also providing benefits to preceptors."

Finding articles of interest

To identify articles on a topic, by a certain author, etc., you will need to search a database. We've listed databases that are most helpful for health care below. (If you need assistance searching any of these, contact Mulford Reference Assistance or see our online help.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical and pre-clinical medicine, health care administration, nursing, and allied fields
Help with searching available in the PubMed LibGuide
PubMed is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE. This version has links to UT specific tools and full text.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's version of the National Library of Medicine's index to journal literature. Covers a broad range of biomedical, life sciences, and healthcare disciplines.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to literature in nursing, allied health, and related fields including alternative and complementary medicine, health sciences librarianship, and consumer health.

All Research Databases
- This link opens in a new window
A full list of our databases subscribed to by UToledo or OhioLINK.

Getting the article online

The Mulford Library subscribes to a large number of biomedical journals, and most articles within these journals are available online. To determine if we have access to a particular article online:

Search our library catalog for the title of the journal (NOT the title of the article). The links in our catalog are set to go through our proxy server, so you will be asked to login before you can access the site.
We have access to online journals from many different sources, with different search interfaces. Look for an option to search or browse (which may be labeled "archives" or "past issues").

Another option is to search for the journal in our list of online journals. If you are not able to determine whether or not we have access to an article here, contact the Mulford Library (419.383.4218, 419.383.4225, or another way. We're happy to check for you.

Requesting an article not available online through UToledo

Please use ILLiad to obtain copies of articles that are not available online. You will need to first create a free ILLiad account (use your library-assigned ID number if you do not have a Rocket ID number). If you need assistance with this process, contact the Mulford Library at 419.383.4225 or UToledo Libraries Interlibrary Loan at 419.530.2576.