LibGuides: American National Government: Home

Political Science LC Call Numbers

J is the letter assigned by the LIbrary of Congress classification system for books and other resources in Political Science.

The following letters are assigned to specific Political Science subject areas.

JC Political theory
imperialism, monarchy, aristocracy, democracy, fascism, dictatorships
Individual rights
JF Constitutional history
JS Local government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration
JX International law and relations

Books

The Democracy Project : a history, a crisis, a movement / David Graeber by David Graeber
Call Number: JC421 .G677 2013
ISBN: 9780812993561

The ideological origins of American federalism by Alison L. LaCroix
Call Number: JK311 .L33 2010
ISBN: 9780674048867
Limited government and the Bill of Rights by Patrick M. Garry
Call Number: KF4749 .G37 2012 Law Library
ISBN: 9780826219718
The New Deal and the triumph of liberalism by Edited by Sidney M. Milkis and Jerome M. Mileur
Call Number: JC574.2.U6 N48 2002
ISBN: 1558493204

American National Government: Research Databases

This libguide is designed to support your research in American National Government.

Following is a list of links to the University Libraries' Research Databases that will provide you with articles and other resources related to this particular subject area. You would have to use your name and rocket ID to access some of these subscription databases off campus.

Click on folders above to go to specific topics freely available on the internet.

America : History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
(See Historical Abstractsfor history of the world other than North America.)

Library of Congress American Memory
Gateway to American historical materials in digitized collections of the Library of Congress. Includes more than 9 million items documenting U.S. history and culture organized into thematic collections based on original format, subject matter, and/or who first created, assembled, or donated to the Library. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of historical newspapers published in the United States from 1836-1922.
HarpWeek: Reconstruction I This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the popular magazine Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. Includes all original pages as scanned images together with a series of indexes. Contains news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps. Also includes biographical information about period leaders.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Comprehensive source for quantitative facts of American history. Contains statistics and data arranged in five broad categories: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Index to publications, proceedings, activities, and members of the U.S. Congress. Includes full text of the Congressional Record; reports and hearings of Congressional committees; Congressional Research Service reports; committee prints; House and Senate documents; and laws, bills, and legislative histories. Also includes full text of the Federal Register.
UT has basic subscription plus access to full text content in U.S. Serial Set 1 and American State Papers; U.S. Serial Set 2;Congressional Hearings, Historical Archive Part A (1824-1979) and Historical Archive Part B (1980-2003); and Congressional Research Digital Collection, Part E (2013), Part F (2014) and Part G (2015).

USA.gov
Official web portal of the United States government. Designed to make it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the Web.

Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly literature on law and legal topics.
IPSA : International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals and yearbooks in political science and related disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching full text of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Also includes books and primary source materials.
Also includes books and primary source materials. UT users have access to full text of retrospective issues for over 1,100 journals in 5 JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and VII, and Life Sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, biology, botany, economics, ecology, education, history, mathematics, medicine, performing arts, political science, and sociology. (Note: Life Sciences Collection includes Ecology & Botany Collection, previously subscribed to separately.)

Hannah Capital Connection/ Ohio Capital Connection
Contains information on the actions and activities of the Ohio legislature and state government. Includes full text and status (updated daily) of bills and amendments, opinions and decisions, proposed rules and policies, and agendas and activities of committees. Also includes rosters, addresses, and biographies of General Assembly members.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals in communications, mass media and related fields.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary index to scholarly publications in nearly all academic areas of study.

C-Span Video Library
Streaming video database containing every program aired on the public affairs cable network C-SPAN since 1987. Includes over 197,000 hours of footage from all 3 C-SPAN channels. Indexed and searchable by subjects, names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, locations, and keywords

Database descriptions are taken from UToledo Libraries List of Research Databases compiled by Sheryl Stevens, Electronic Resources Librarian.

Profile

Arjun Sabharwal

Email Me

Contact:

Carlson Library Mail Stop #509

Office: CL 5036

University of Toledo

Toledo, Ohio 43606-3390

419.530.4497

Subjects: Geography, Humanities, Intellectual Property, Music, Political Science & Public Administration

Federal Depository Library

Government Information

Carlson Library has been a selective depository for United States federal and state government documents since 1963. In our forty plus years of service, we have provided our users information published by every agency of the government.

Library Catalog Search

Search the University of Toledo Library catalog for books, journal titles, media, etc. Not for searching by article title.

Political Science Journals

Electronic Journal Center
Platform for searching and accessing full text of more than 10,000 journals from over 30 scholarly publishers covering a variety of subject areas.

APA Style guide

OWL the Online Writing Lab from Purdue
The OWL provides free writing resources and instructional material to assist students and public users with writing projects.