Skip to Main Content

American National Government: Branches of Government

Resources to help understand American political development.

The Government Manual

Legislation in Current Congress

Congressional Record

Three Branches of Government

Diagram:  Branches of Government

 the U.S. Federal Government is made up of three branches: legislative, executive and judicial.

The Legislative Branch is made up of the House and Senate, known collectively as the Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies

The Executive Branch consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land.

The Judicial Branch consists of the U.S. Supreme Court and the Federal Judicial Center.

Legislative Branch


Source: Mike Wirth & Dr. Suzanne Cooper Guasco, How Our Laws Are Made

Executive Branch

Judicial Branch