LibGuides: American National Government: Branches of Government

The Government Manual

The Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government and provides comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.

Legislation in Current Congress

Thomas
Thomas consists of Legislative information from the Library of Congress. It includes Bills, Resolutions, activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, Treaties and more

Congressional Record

Law Library
Established by Congress in 1832 the Law Library provides ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library’s collection of primary and secondary sources constitutes the largest legal collection in the world.
Congressional Record Archives
The Congressional Record began publication in 1873. Printed by the Government Printing Office, it is the fourth and final series of publications containing the debates of Congress. (It was preceded by the Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, and Congressional Globe.)

Three Branches of Government

the U.S. Federal Government is made up of three branches: legislative, executive and judicial.

The Legislative Branch is made up of the House and Senate, known collectively as the Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies

The Executive Branch consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land.

The Judicial Branch consists of the U.S. Supreme Court and the Federal Judicial Center.

Legislative Branch

Legislative Branch
This is the law making branch of government made up of the Senate, the House of Representatives, and agencies that support Congress.

Source: Mike Wirth & Dr. Suzanne Cooper Guasco, How Our Laws Are Made http://www.mikewirthart.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/howlawsmadeWIRTH2.jpg

How our Laws are Made

Executive Branch

The Executive Branch
The Executive Branch is led by the President who is both the head of state and head of government of the United States of America, and is Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. It includes the Vice President, the Executive Office of the President and the Cabinet.
Executive Branch Websites
This Library of Congress site contains Executive Branch sites that are periodically updated.
The American Presidency Project
A searchable database of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents,The Public Papers of the Presidents, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Judicial Branch

Judicial Branch
The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court, Lower Courts, Special Courts, and court support organizations.
Supreme Court
The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The President of the United States has the power to nominate Justices.
Federal Judicial Center
Federal Judicial Center is the education and research agency of the courts. It was created to promote improvements judicial administration in the courts.