LibGuides: CI Graduate Research in Curriculum & Instruction: Finding Research Articles

Education Research Databases via EBSCO

ERIC

How to Access ERIC

The ERIC database is available in many search environments. Each should have the same data, but there will be differences in how each one searches, uses the thesaurus, or connects to full text.

ERIC (Public Access)
Version on the U.S. Dept. of Education site.

ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
Comprehensive index to a variety of literature and resources in education.

What's in ERIC?

One of ERIC's advantages is having non-journal articles as well as journal articles. See below for the descriptions or title lists of the major types of publications in ERIC.

Journals Index (EJs)
The list of journals includes titles indexed from 1966 to the present, and indicates any breaks in coverage, e.g., 1999-2001, 2004-Current. Use of the term "current" indicates that ERIC is actively indexing the journal; the availability of the most recent issues varies according to the release schedule of each publisher.

Current journal indicator Journals currently indexed in ERIC are marked with an orange diamond.
Non-Journal Sources (ERIC Documents or EDs)
ERIC indexes grey literature and books from hundreds of organizations producing education-related material. Organizations providing non-journal content to ERIC include research foundations, federal and state agencies, policy organizations, university affiliates, and commercial publishers. Browse the list of content contributors to glimpse the depth and variety of sources helping build the ERIC Collection, and select the link to visit an organization's Web site.

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete
Index to scholarly research and information relating to education.

Education Full Text

Education Full Text
Index to international English-language publications in the field of education.